Northern Vietnam through my right eye


Adventures… Sometimes it really happened crazier than you expected. Just when your left eye were medicated-thus blurry and you were suffering for back ache. Great timing, adventure god!

Meet four people: May, Bandi, Trang and Thinh. Our goal is to chase a cloud in Y Ty, a very small town northern from Sapa (which is already northern from Hanoi (which is already a North City in Viet Nam)), so north that it can’t be even more north; so north that just some steps away, you reached China.

The clouds in Y Ty supposed to be like this:

Some random believable photo from the internet

Some random believable photo from the internet

But alas… the adventure god wanted something different, so came there non-stop rain, muddy roads, fogs and a ghost! Yes, I saw a ghost (and if you know me, I’m not a person who would believe in ghost).

First of all, my left eye was 80% not working during this trip. It was on full medication so it was dilated and blurry. The whole beauty of Northern Vietnam was only seen by my right eye. Bandi and I arrived in Hanoi in a Friday afternoon, we then waited for Trang and Thinh who flew from Ho Chi Minh. Little background story, Trang was my colleague when she was working in Singapore, and Thinh is her fiance. That evening, we had a very scrumptious dinner at Trang’s house. Her lovely mom and aunt cooked for us an authentic Vietnamese dinner experience! :)

Homecooked meal.

Homecooked meal.

After dinner, we took taxi to the train station where I happened to catch Pikachu and took a midnight train to Lao Cai. Around 5 am in the morning, we arrived at Lao Cai, and continued our journey by overpacked van to Sa Pa. The journey from Lao Cai to Sa Pa was horrible! It was so zig-zaggy, one person requested to stop for a while to throw up. Thankfully Bandi and I are so used to seasick, mountain sick doesn’t feel so bad anymore. Once we reached Sa Pa, we rightaway wore our jacket because it was soooo cold (at least for me, the true blue tropical creature).

vn-194

Sa Pa is wonderful, a small mountainous town which is surrounded by so many mountains and traditional Vietnamese village. It is also a home of the longest cable car in Viet Nam which can bring you to the summit of Fansipan Mountain, the highest peak of Viet Nam!

vn-27

vn-81

But it is the journey from Sa Pa to Y Ty that caught my (blurry) eyes. The view was… AMAZING! Tidily Architectured rice paddy fields with mountains in the background, oh what a feast to the eyes! The four of us rented motorcycle, and rode to Y ty. It was only 72 km away from Sa Pa on the map, but we spent four and a half hours!

vn-38

vn-302

vn-110

We reached Y Ty around 4 pm, rested a while and had dinner. We met another local couple and went for coffee in a deserted cafe in the middle of nowhere, even walking there was a thrill!

But what happened that night was probably the craziest thing ever happened to me. I saw a ghost! This human-like shadow was standing between Bandi and Thinh and stared at them when they were asleep. It just happened that I suddenly woke up and saw it. The bed seemed to be protected because we used mosquito nets and the room was pitch dark. After I felt that I gave enough time for it to disappear but it didn’t, I took my phone and opened the torch light. I torched onto it, because on that moment I was so scared that it could be a thief! That’s even scarier right?

But when I torched it, it flew away and vanished into thin air. That was when I finally accepted the fact that maybe I saw a ghost.

I didn’t tell Bandi rightaway because he would need to drive back to Sa Pa the next day, so I just really tried so hard to sleep. Obviously, I couldn’t sleep well.

The next day I told Bandi, his face was priceless. LOL

As though this trip hasn’t been crazy enough, that morning when we tried to ride up above the clouds, fogs kept following us and it rained. We had to pass the muddy road in the middle of the rain, a lot of times we felt like almost falling down. We did fall down from motorcyle eventually, which was not new to me. It happened a couple of times for me and Bandi together.

Even though Y Ty trip was a total failure, I was happy we did that. What a crazy trip that left us with so many crazy stories! Oh the feeling of riding up to the top above the clouds through mountainous muddy road with an amateur motorcyle was both recklessly stupid and excited.

vn-102

This is absolutely one of the most memorable trip ever and I would cherish all the moments we shared. :) Pretty photos incoming!

vn-207

vn-209

vn-215

If you would like to go to Sa Pa, you can take midnight train from Hanoi to Lao Cai and continue with shuttle bus (van) to Sa Pa. Getting back to Hanoi would be faster by sleeper bus. I post the detail itinerary on how to reach Sa Pa on my instagram @jaunemai .

But I don’t recommend you to go to Y Ty without local people going with you, and you also have to be an experienced motorboke rider since the road is quite dangerous during rainy season.

Personally I would love to come back again to Sa Pa just for relaxing, sipping coffee while staring at the vast green mountains. Would you? ;)

vn-89

Cheers,

May, with new bruises

2 thoughts on “Northern Vietnam through my right eye

Leave a Reply

