8 Reasons why we love Taipei


Guess how much we spent on air ticket to Taipei? S$24!

You guys know that Bandi has a talent on finding cheap flight ticket, but this is by far Bandi’s greatest achievement in life.

When a friend asked me on how do I choose a travel destination, I answered “sorted by price”, meaning I would go to wherever cheap tickets will bring me. Taipei is one of them.

But Taipei is exceptional because… it exceeds our expectation in so many ways. The last time I created reasons to love a place post was Boracay, you can read it here.

1. THE NIGHT MARKETS – OMAGAH isn’t it obvious?

Taipei is well-known to its vibrant (and cheap) night market. With so many stories in the internet, and so many videos in youtube. the night markets still live up to Bandi’s expectation, even exceeded it! Bandi’s friend who is living in Taipei said that the night market food is somehow touristy thus the price is slightly higher. ARE YOU KIDDING? Bubble tea for 50TWD is considered expensive? Kill me now… Then how cheap can a Taiwanese food be?

Bandi posing in front of Shilin night market sign

Bandi posing in front of Shilin night market sign

2. Friendly people

You know Chinese people is well known of being rude and manner-less, so we were prepared to be ignored for not being able to speak Chinese even though we look Chinese (just like what happened in Hong Kong), but suprisingly, Taiwanese people is nothing like Chinese. And please read history, they are not the same country or related to People’s Republic of China. Taiwan’s official name is Republic of China, and they were a nation first long before PRC. The people is friendly and helpful, I feel they’re more like Japanese people. So don’t worry, they won’t diss you for not being able to speak Chinese.

3. It’s surrounded by mountains – thus hiking friendly!

Do you know that Taiwan is one of the most dense mountainous area? If you look at the map, the whole island is likely covered in mountainous area, that’s why even from Taipei city, you can see a lot of mountains and hills. And it’s just making Taipei beautiful.

Bandi and I at Jiu Fen Old Market

Bandi and I at Jiu Fen Old Market

The terrain also makes Taipei a city that is very near to nature and you can go hiking even from the MRT exit. And to look at Taiwan as a whole, this country is a hiking paradise! Too bad we visited during Typhoon (our first Typhoon!) and 3 days were too short anyway. We’re definitely coming back to Taiwan!

4. Taipei is the capital city of bubble tea

Like I need to explain it.

5. And co-capital city of dessert!

Like I need to explain this one either.

I can eat this as dessert everyday... if only I cannot be fat.

I can eat this as dessert everyday… if only I cannot be fat.

6. The beef noodle.

I know I know, now it seems like I’m just listing down food names. But seriously, the beef noodle is a noodle soup like nothing I’ve ever had before. You know Vietnam has their own version of beef noddle, Chinese Indonesian has their own version of beef noodle, even Japanese, but hereby I validate that… Taiwan has the best version. The soup is not so thick yet very tasty, so it won’t give you sore throat so easily, meaning you can keep eating it again and again. The beef OMG is sooooo tender you don’t even need to chew it, it’d just melt in your mouth together with the soup broth. The noodle is thick and chewy, which is my most favorite kind of noodle! Put these all together and it’s orgasm in your mouth!

Oh look at that sexy beef

Oh look at that sexy beef

I tried beef noodle twice; one was in Kee Lung Market (somewhere inside that market maze) and the other one is in Yong Kang. Both are AH-MAH-ZEEEENG!

7. Great public transportation

Our first plan is to rent a motorbike but because of the forecast typhoon, we thought it would be wise not to ride bike, thus we stuck with public transport and once we got to know it, the MRT and bus system were amazing! It simply worked and got us from point A to point B, and… it’s cheap!

A random photo of Chiang Kai sek memorial park

A random photo of Chiang Kai sek memorial park

8. Variety of Toiletries and Drug Stores

This is my biggest guilty pleasures, to shop for toiletries! So if you’re toiletries addict like me, Taipei is our toiletries paradise! Taipei also sells cheap and colorful contact lens which I regret to only buy 1 pack. I also didn’t buy so much drug store items because we had to fly to Japan after Taipei so we wouldn’t want to shop at that moment. Oh how I so regret that… The next time I’m going to Taiwan, I will buy 20 kg allowance just for my toiletries!

So….. If you happen to stumble into this post and planning your Taipei (or General Taiwan) trip, Oh I envy you. I so want to come back to Taiwan again soon!!! Taiwan has all the good reasons to be a great travel destination: four seasons (you can pick your favorite season to go), good food, CHEAP transport and accommodation (this is important), great scenery and friendly locals.

Bandi and I are planning a 2-weeks of Taiwan road trip to go around the whole island to hike and to eat. Hopefully we will have time to fulfill that. :)

To end this yummy post, here’s a yummy vlog on 101 Million things to eat at Taipei! Please do subscribe to my youtube channel Baytravels. This is something new for me to start building up my youtube portfolio. :) Enjoy!

Cheers,

May, gaining 2 kgs just by watching the video.

One thought on “8 Reasons why we love Taipei

Leave a Reply

