One super fun weekend and one failed diet plan


It’s eighteen days to Christmas!!!

How’s everyone doing in this joyful festive season? I wish everyone’s planning for fun and joyous things to do for this holiday! :)

This December, I promised Bandi that we’re staying in Singapore. This is because this year is the most tiring year for our passport; we have been traveling all year long, December would be the first month without traveling at all! We’re gonna dining in for Christmas’ Eve together with our housemates and then we’re gonna go to the midnight mass.

What’s your Christmas plan?

Anyway… following up my #projectLEBAY, well…. let’s just say the project failed miserably. HAHAHA. Maybe it’s a very wrong timing. I have so many feast invites in the office, bonding with new friends, new activities, and don’t forget the rainy season got me lazy to exercise. :D Yadda yadda yadda, those are all excuses I know.

I even received email from reader about this project and here I apologize sincerely for the unfinished meal plan. I will resume the project on 2015. I promise. :)

One of the reason why this project failed is because I’ve been enjoying cafe hunting lately. I have a new favorite neighborhood in town. It’s in the Upper Thompson Road.

Upper Thompson Road houses a road length stretch of cafes and restaurants. You can find dimsum place, kopitiam, Korean Bbq, but the ones I love are the cafes! Upper Thompson offer variety of independent cafe. My current favorite is Habitat Cafe, but the best coffee belongs to Pacamara Cafe.

This espresso is awesome!

This espresso is awesome!

Upper Thompson is also very near to my house and my office, so I plan to visit often and try new cafes. I even have a plan in mind to make one post specially for Upper Thompson Road. :) If you notice, I have never written about restaurant reviews ever! The reason is because I found Food Blog is opinionated and sometimes overrated. How would you rate food? It’s almost like rating a pretty face.

But I will write more about Upper Thompson Road. After I collect enough researches about it. :p

I know there is another hipster area beside Upper Thompson in Singapore, such as Tanjong Pagar or Duxton Hill. But I personally prefer Upper Thompson simply because it’s near to my house. :)

If you like coffee, be excited about this, because I’m on a quest to try as many coffee as possible! My preference for Coffee is the Ristretto (easily defined as Espresso, but with half amount of water). I found Ristretto in some of coffee shop (like Pacamara and Koultoura in Jakarta), but they usually would just call it Espresso. You can actually easily see the difference by the amount of water.

Even though I prefer Ristretto, Espresso is also fine for me. Basically any concentrated coffee is fine for me. I don’t really like American Coffee or what we call it Long Black. I feel there’s too much water in there.

My first choice will always be black coffee, but sometimes (very rarely happen) I would want some milk on my coffee. Even though I usually went for Latte, I actually loved cappuccino better, but the sad thing is… I rarely found cappuccino to be done properly… That’s why I would just go for Latte.

I have so far 3 most memorable coffee I’ve had in my life:

  1. Koultoura Coffee – Jakarta, Indonesia.
  2. The Coffee Academy – Hong Kong.
  3. Pacamara – Singapore.

The reason why they’re so memorable is because they have good blends. I love the coffee blends to be aromatic and tangy.

Talking about good cafes, me and my girlfriends decided to have a cafe day out last Saturday.

We started with my personal favorite, Habitat. Here’s some picture!

Photo 6-12-14 12 36 29 pm

Gossiping with my girlfriends.

 

From Habitat, we continued to Little pancake.

Photo 6-12-14 1 36 18 pm

Literally little. :p

 

I actually read a lot of good reviews about Little Pancakes, but even though it was pretty decent to eat and it actually tasted good, I found nothing really special about it.

We continued to the next cafe, called TCC, which is a franchised cafe-chain in Singapore (probably in some other country too, I’m not sure). Here we played some board game because one of my friend, Fefe had a friend who is soooo crazy about board game. It was FUN!

One of the board game, which name I forgot. :p

One of the board game, which name I forgot. :p

My Saturday turned out to be very very active. It was ironic because I came home very late the night before. I had the most fun Dinner and Dance ever! It was the Schneider Electric Dinner and Dance event with Fabulous Fifties theme! It turned out to be super fun!

A simple collage

A simple collage

I wish I had more pictures, but my phone wasn’t with me that night, so I only relied on other people sending me their photos.

It’s amazing that a lot of fun thing could happen in just one weekend. My weekend usually starts with playstation and ends with PC games. LOL. This weekend I had so much fun.

To continue on what happen after the board game… Angel and I went back home to eat dinner and met Bandi and Ricky (both Angel and Ricky are very close friend) and we spontaneously decided to do Capsa Night!

When one of my housemate, Felik heard word “capsa” he joined us. And this is what makes the Capsa more fun!

TEQUILA!

TEQUILA!

Five hours later, after rounds and rounds of Capsa game, we finished a bottle of tequila! Can you imagine that!?! I thought it was physically impossible but we actually finished it.

You guys could pretty much picture the idea of what happened next, right? XD

It was 3 am in the morning and a group of drunk people walked to 24hrs McDonald’s. HAHAHAHA. Gosh it was fun.

Annndddd…. the fun still continues on the next day, Sunday.

We had a birthday bash! yaiy! And we didn’t cut cake. We cut tumpeng! :D

Photo 7-12-14 10 40 31 pm

We played another game called “WEREWOLF ULTIMATE”

Photo 8-12-14 8 18 02 am

The birthday girl is the one holding flowers!

We played another game called “Werewolf Ultimate”, which is very very fun. You can actually create the game without buying it. Just google it! It’s great for group fun activity, no matter if they’re strangers or close friends.. :)

Well…

It’s been soooooo long since I made a personal post, isn’t it? I just feel that last weekend deserves a post. It was seriously one of the best weekend I’ve ever had. It was mix of everything I love doing, dancing, partying, meeting new people, playing games, coffee drinking, wine drinking, spending time with close friends, celebrating birthday, went on a shopping spree (yes we actually had time to go to the Fossil for the 30% disc!), eating good food and good cheesecake, and lots and lots and lots of laughter.

A weekend to remember.

Thank you for spending time with me, friends! There’s a saying: home is not a place, it is people. Indeed it’s true. :)

Cheers,

May,

having fun, always.

 

11 thoughts on “One super fun weekend and one failed diet plan

  1. Ahahahahaha kalo aku masih rada jalan clean eatnya tapi ngga jalan olahraganya hahaha
    Still, lost 3 kilos dan sekarang stuck di situ :9
    Kalo aku suka review resto2/kafe2 soalnya jadi tau range harga sama tempatnya kaya apa ce,, cuma kalo taste makanannya emg subjektif banget sih ya hehehe

  2. Iya nih May, gw juga gagal total lah mo cleaneating tuhh.. Siang dah ok sih krn bawa bekal.. Nah malemnyaaaa..ckckckc.. Banyak undangan makanan..haha :D Januari ulang lagi yah May :D

Leave a Reply

