#30daysblogging The (not so) secret recipe of Carbonara ala Cahaydut


Day 7

Post is an idea from Erima Astri.

I looooooooooove Pasta! It’s the only thing that I can cook with my eyes closed! LOL

But seriously I cooked so much Pasta until I knew just when the pasta has reached the “al dente” phase so I would turn off the stove. I have this special power. :D

I love cream sauce as the base for the pasta more than tomato sauce but since I’ve been on diet, I cooked the tomato sauce more often.

I usually just buy my favorite Barilla sauce (like that photo above) for everyday meal, but when I have free time, I or Bandi would make the sauce by ourselves. We both know how to make this sauce because we invented it together when we were still in collage.

We call it carbonara sauce but actually the real carbonara sauce was made by raw egg that’s being mixed with the hot temperature of pasta. But we tried the real carbonara before and we didn’t like it so we just made up our version of cream sauce and called it “carbonara”

Taa-daa!

Photo 6-3-14 2 25 50 pm

The Pasta

Any pasta you like

The sauce

1 tbs margarine

1.5 tbs of flour

1 cup of milk (preferable dancow instant)

oregano

salt

shredded cheese (parmesan or cheddar)

Instruction:

1. Mix and stir slowly margarine, flour and milk on the low temperature stove. To be honest, I anyhow wrote the measurement because I didn’t really measure when I cooked. LOLOL. So you guys try yourself lah! :p

2. When you feel the sauce thicken just like what you wanted, put in the cheese, oregano and salt.

3. Taa daa!!!

The topping(s)

My favorite is bacon, but this sauce goes surprisingly well with chicken (cut cubes) and shrooms.

Instructions:

Heat the olive oil on the pan and saute some onions, following by the ingredients you want (such as chicken, bacon or mushrooms or all of them). My secret ingredient is to put wine on the cooking meat because not only it would smell great. it would taste even better! =)

P.S. Always pour white wine onto white meat and pour red wine onto red meat.

When the meat has been cooked perfectly, pour in the sauce and saute for a while and then it’s finished!!! =D

My favorite kind of carbonara

You know what’s better than just a normal carbonara? A MEATBALL CARBONARA! Hahaha!

Photo 5-3-14 3 57 31 pm

I got the meatball recipe from Gordon Ramsay’s recipe book and I swear it’s the BEST meatball ever!!!

Here’s the recipe:

  • 250 gr ground pork (not lean)
  • 250 gr ground beef
  • 2 tbsp water
  • 1/2 cup bread crumbs
  • 1/4 minced onion
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/8 tsp pepper
  • 1 tsp chopped garlic
  • 1/2 tbs chopped parsley
  • Grated cheese (extra)

Instruction: Mix all the ingredients and shape into a…. star? triangle? duh! of course shape into a ball!

You can bake them, pan-sear them or make soup with them! =)

If you don’t eat pork, then you can change it with other meat that has more fats than beef. If you plan to make the meatball for your carbonara, you may avoid adding cheese because it would be too savory. For the bread crumbs, don’t use the tempura kind of bread crumbs, but use the bread crumbs for baking.

Good luck!!!

Cheers,

May, smelling the fragrance onion.

7 thoughts on “#30daysblogging The (not so) secret recipe of Carbonara ala Cahaydut

  1. Wahhh… resep cream saucenya kayak yg suka gue praktekin. Termasuk jg buat bikin cream soup gue pake resep itu jg tp lebih encer hahahaha. Tossss!! Kl gue demen masukin sayuran jg ke saosnya itu. Kayak brocolli. Nyammm….

Leave a Reply

