Today is the day I’ve been talking about


Looking back to the past one year when Bandi and I first really planned about this. We’ve been talking about this plan since forever but last year we talked about really doing it.

October 2012

Bandi started to browse for cheap tickets… for months.

November 2012

Bandi took me to the Library and we browsed for hours. We borrowed some of the books back home and started to sort out the cities.

After hundreds of arguments, we finally agreed with multi-destination ticket. Even though it would be more expensive, we would save time. So we decided to arrive at London and leave from Athens.

31 December 2012

Bandi paid for the tickets. I couldn’t believe he did that. He paid the tickets with the money he’d saved from working part-time in USA back then.

After the ticket was bought, we planned the budget together and agreed to contribute equally. :)

January – February 2013

We I read all the books from Rick Steves. Seriously. I’m a prepared traveler. LOL

March 2013

Bought flight ticket from Rome to Athens.

April 2013

Nothing really happened. LOL

May 2013

Bought our Railpass.

June 2013

Booked half of the B&B’s

July 2013

Booked all the B&B’s, bought overnight train tickets, bought Santorini tickets, Bought Insurance, and applied for Visa. Horribly failed to apply the Visa because Italian Embassy requested for the complete point-to-point reservation ticket.

Itinerary is finalised.

August 2013

Got the UK Visa, reserved all the train tickets.

September 2013

Bandi accidentally washed his passport, so he needed to change his passport and re-apply UK Visa. After he got the new passport, he applied the Schengen visa with me and applied UK Visa again for himself.

We booked the Mt. Titlis Tour.

The host from Amsterdam suddenly cancelled then it was a bit difficult to find a new host whose room is available in short notice and of course which the room we could afford. Thankfully airbnb was so cooperative about this. =)

October 2013

We booked all the museums we wanted to visit.

We lost the most expensive documents that we needed for the Europe Trip just two weeks before our D day. We almost cancelled our trip but then we decided to just get the hell with it. We re-purchased the lost documents and accepted the fact that for this trip, Universe really wanted to test us, and I hope we passed. =)

11th October 2013

Today… I can finally start to see the dream is getting real. I’m kinda terrified, the exciting-terrified. I am a proud person now. I can’t explain with words how I am feeling right now but it is so overwhelming that it consumes me.

Why I am so proud of my Europe Trip?

I didn’t come from a wealthy family, you see, it is nearly impossible to go to Europe if I look back to ten years ago. I believe in my dream. I believe there will be a way for me to go to Europe. Even though it takes years to save money, I would do it. Even though people said it is silly to blow a huge amount of money for one trip, I don’t care. Even though I’m considered irresponsible to spend so much money on a trip when it should’ve been paid for more responsible things like… house, I don’t care. It’s a matter of priority. You can’t say I will be happier buying house than going to Europe.

What I know is, while other girls buy bags every payday, my only bag is the almost-torn Mango shoppers bag that I bought so many years ago. (And thank god strawberry bought me a new bag. LOL) While all my colleagues are eating out, I spent more time the night before and cooked for my lunch. I went out less, ate out less, drank out less. I’ve saved more money than I supposed I should. It’s not that much that I can buy a house or a car, but enough to send my mom for her dream holiday and my dad to check up to doctor, and I still save every cents left…

To go traveling. See the world.

I don’t go traveling with a high end tours which my parents paid for me. I paid every cent of my airfare, hostel cost and the backpack myself. Every city I will be traveling to has meaning and reason why it’s been chosen so yeah, I’m control freak that way.

And yes, I’m proud of it. I am so freaking proud of it like it’s a very big achievement. And yes, IT IS A BIG DEAL.

So I have different priority from normal people, so what?! I don’t have a house, but I have a home, who goes traveling with me always. My home is with me wherever I go.

This is me living my dream. And I am so very very PROUD that I paid every cents with my own sweat and tears.

If you’re proud of your branded bags, your new job, your new house or car, why can’t I be proud of my adventure?

Europe, in particular, is my dream land. So many history, so many masterpieces and so many pieces of my dreams took place there. I’m going to conquer it. =)

If I could go back and tell the 9 years old May…

I would tell her not to worry, eventually everything would go according to her plan. Universe would conspire and made all of her dreams come true.

Never, NEVER let anyone’s words went into your head, little May. You were right when you were little and you would still be right even 20 years later… that it is OKAY to dream big, dream silly, and dream a lot. You’re gonna be just fine, May.

And yes, you would find that one person who you could spend all of your happiness with, earlier than you thought you would. You two would be best buds and he would share your dream.

So, don’t worry, dear… Never worry.

What happen to my blog when I’m in Europe?

It will be pretty much dormant. I was thinking to set some auto-post, but then there are nothing much of interesting things in my drafts. :p

I’ll try to blog once in a while through wordpress app but we all know it sucks big time with the photo editing. So don’t count on it.

I will share my dreams-come-true adventure on my instagram with hashtag #BayEuropeAdventure and will post regularly every night before I go to sleep. Please do follow my instagram @jaunemai for super awesome stories!

I promise it won’t be just a photo. It would be a story in every photo. It would be like taking you with me in my adventure.

Ready for an adventure?

Cheers,

May, the dreamy one.

20 thoughts on “Today is the day I’ve been talking about

  1. entah kenapa ya May, postinganmu selalu mewakili perasaanku *caelaaah* Dulu waktu aku mau Eurotrip juga ngerasanya kayak gini tapi gak kepikiran nulisnya, kamu jenius deeehhh!

    Enjoy your trip May!

  2. Hai May,
    Kenalin gw Meta, nyampe sini dari blognya noni (apa bebe ya? Lupa, hihi) gw belum selesai baca semua postingan persiapan eurotrip ini (baru setengah) dan baca post yang ini sampe merinding saking terharunya. Yes dreams do come true, I’m a living proof too :D gw sering bilang sama temen2 gw untuk dream big. Because dreams do come true. Bukan magically will come true sih menurut gw tapi klo kita punya mimpi, kita bakal punya tujuan dan mengerahkan effort kita untuk mencapainya. Tuhan juga liat effort kita dan (hopefully) menjadikan mimpi itu nyata. Well just my two cents (yang bawel sekaliii padahal ini komen kenalan, hihihi…)

    Anyway, wishing you a memorable, wonderful, happy, adventurous journey with Bandi.

    You deserve it. Really deserve it.

  3. Reblogged this on .n and commented:
    Saya pribadi gak terlalu berminat untuk traveling. It’s not my passion…. tapi ijinkanlah saya… *resmi bgt bahasane* mengutip dari postingane May. Something about priority and not letting the society dictate what we should or shouldn’t do:
    Even though I’m considered irresponsible to spend so much money on a trip when it should’ve been paid for more responsible things like… house, I don’t care. It’s a matter of priority. You can’t say I will be happier buying house than going to Europe.

    What I know is, while other girls buy bags every payday, my only bag is the almost-torn Mango shoppers bag that I bought so many years ago. (And thank god strawberry bought me a new bag. LOL) While all my colleagues are eating out, I spent more time the night before and cooked for my lunch. I went out less, ate out less, drank out less. I’ve saved more money than I supposed I should. It’s not that much that I can buy a house or a car, but enough to send my mom for her dream holiday and my dad to check up to doctor, and I still save every cents left…

    To go traveling. See the world.

Leave a Reply

