10 things I’ve figured about myself when I get older


They said the age twenties is the most crucial time of growing up. Early twenties and late twenties can make a huge different and it is the time of self discovery and when we finally draw lines from rights or wrongs. Maybe it’s true. Since life will truly begin on 30, I guess I have to figure out everything about myself before then.

Remember all those things we wished we would do when we were young? Now it seems not that important anymore or it turned out we don’t enjoy it at all.

So, after some time of self discovery (cieh) here are ten things I’ve figured out when I get older (and wiser i hope):

1. I’m not a quitter.

I always thought i am. I used the “I’m a quitter” words to avoid things i didn’t want to do. But as i grow older, I’ve realized I am so not a quitter! For the things that I REALLY want, I always strive to get it. And I got it no matter what. I’m quite ambitious that way, which is not my favorite trait about myself, because ambitious people tends to be bossy and annoying but i kinda am.

2. I secretly love Beegees.

You know because Beatles were cooler and some people think Beegees is weird. But hey now I don’t care. :p Actually i love all the songs from 70’s, 80’s and 90’s. But I have a special place for Beegees songs in my heart. =)

Grease is the word, is the word that you heard. It’s got a groove, it’s got a meaning!

3. I love spending time in art museum.

This is quite shocking. I remember when I was very little and I was into paintings and then I became teenager and I was into manga because I thought classical paintings are boring but oh my I couldn’t be more wrong! It’s quite surprising for me because I’m not a classy lady but I do enjoy classical paintings so much. I could just stand in front of one and stare for minutes, wondering how many possible stories were hidden behind the piece. The interest is magnified when I borrowed one of the renaissance book from the public library last year. I remembered I saw Van Gogh’s starry night around 3 years ago when MOMA New York lent it for a show in Singapore and I was stunned. It was so pretty and freaking magical!!!! I then tried to read more about Van Gogh and the more I know the more I’m intrigued. Then I read more about renaissance era where people started to ACTUALLY got married out of love, when romanticism started to grow. Oh the beginning of true civilization… So yeah, it turned out I’m an art and history buffs :)

4. I am not a daredevil.

Remember when everyone’s bucket list filled bungee jumping and sky diving and stuffs like that? Well I had them too, but then I bungee jumped and I didn’t like it. Okay, it was fun but not something I would enjoy doing it all over again. I’m not a thrill seeker, as much as I want to be one, I am not.

5. I’m a little vain.

I love dressing up, putting make up and do my hair. I know it’s so weird that I just realize it now, when I’m twenty freaking seven? I mean I always knew that I care of how my body looks, i wanted to look sexy, but I never really cared about my skin or my hair or my nails. I guess years of years of neglect finally took its toll.
I don’t say I’m that vain until I wear make up everyday and starve to death just to lose a few kilos, ok! I just realize that now I begin to care of how I present myself. But I’m vain enough to spend hours in front of mirror. Yeah yeah weird right?

6. I’m a shoe addict.

I know I’ve loved shoes since long time ago but since I’ve worked and had my own income, I started to buy shoes like… a lot! I love oxford shoes the most, then boots, then mary-jane, then simple 7 inch heels (which is my current obsession now). I don’t like flats, I mean I don’t like how it looks but ironically I have to wear it everyday since I live in Singapore and that involves a lot of walking. And to complete the irony, most of my high heeled shoes had only worn once or even had never been worn. =(

The latest discovery I’ve made is UP Shoes. They are comfy, fashionable and most importantly they are made in Indonesia. =)

Too bad it costed me Rp. 100.000,– delivery charge per shoes in order to ship them to Singapore. So the second time I bought from UP, I asked them to ship to my cousin’s house in Jakarta.

I love Indonesian made shoes! They are great! =)

My latest insanity of buying shoes online.

7. I don’t like studying.

I used to want to have master degree, but then I never even once try to submit my scholarship application. So I figured it out, I never wanted it anyway. I just wanted it to follow everyone’s trend, but I guess I never wanted it, simply because I’m lazy to study.

8. I have a good palette.

Palette for my tongue and for color design. I know it sounds so shameless but I do have good palette for good food. I think it’s because I’ve spent too much time trying foods with Bandi and we liked to discuss about it, like what are the possible ingredients and stuffs. I think I’ve trained my tongue to slowly enhance the palette.

For the color palette, I don’t think it’s something new because I’ve been playing with crayons since I was toddler but I guess I’m getting my brain trained more lately.

9. My friends are so important for me.

Sometimes I’m thinking whether I should go back to Indonesia for good because I miss my friends too much. I wanna spend more time with them. That’s why I’m always glued with my phone because that’s the only way for me to keep connecting with them. :'(

But then I know I have priorities.

10. I am not my mom.

I had this fear of becoming my mom. But as I grow older I realize even though I’m almost like a clone of her, I’ve made decisions so different from hers. I think the best self-discovery in my life in when I realize that I’m not my mom. We are two similar characterized persons but we made different decisions because we have different thinking.

So much for the change, I was thinking of what hasn’t changed?

1. I always love football.

Something that never change… I love football, always. I may not watch league matches every weekend anymore but everytime Azzuri has international match, I will stand up for them. Always. It’s probably my lifetime passion.

2. I always love animals.

My Dog who loves to be pet but sometimes I'm too lazy to pet with my had. LOL

My Dog who loves to be pet but sometimes I’m too lazy to pet with my had. LOL

Another thing that never changes… ever. I love animals and I’m passionate about them. I love dogs the most of course. Never in my life have I not owned a dog at home. My very first bestfriend was my dog. =)

Word!

Word!

3. I am a romantic.

I’ve always been. It’s in my blood. =)

4. I am impulsive.

The impulsive thing I often do with Bandi is…

11:00 at night… Bandi and I stared at each other and one of us said, “Are you thinking what I’m thinking?” And then we burst out laughing. “Take your wallet!” And then we went to McDonald’s. LOL!

5. I’m always me.

Yeah, I am the crazy idealist passionate bitch who doesn’t stop until I get what I want. I am cheerful, honest, loving and loyal. If you’re kind to me, I will be even kinder to you. I am selfish, control-freak, self centered and I actually don’t like to share things. That’s just me. Always.

Photo 12-9-13 3 57 06 PM

So, have you figured out what changes and what never changes throughout your twenty-something age? This is the period of self-discovery. Discover or re-discover yourself! It’s fun! Try it! (Don’t forget to tag me if you try this. =D)

Cheers,

May, the adult hipster.

29 thoughts on “10 things I’ve figured about myself when I get older

  1. I LOVEEEEEEE The Beegees!! TRAGEDYYYY!! Sambil shrieking kayak si Barry hahahaha…

    Pas kecil gue sama adik gue demen bangettt nyanyiin lagu2nya Beegees. Sampe sekarang pun masih…. hihi. Senengnya nemu penggemar yg seumuran… ealah, tuaan gue kemana2 ya??

    • Hahahaha nggak lah, kayaknya kita seumuran. Gue cuma telat gedenya aja. *lho?*
      Iyaaaa!!! I love the beegees because of their falsetto signature voices!!!
      Night fever night feveeerrr!! You just have to do it!!!! Woooo!
      Senang ketemu sesama penggemaaar!!!!

    • Hahaha sama lo kayak si bandi! Awal2 kalo ke museum gue ajak dia, dan yg dia lakuin cuma duduk di pojokan kayak anak pundung, kadang2 dia nungguin gue sampe ketiduran. Akhirnya lama2 gue kasian. Trus skrg kalo ke museum atau nonton theatre gue pergi sama temen2 lain yang juga suka art man. Emang orang tuh beda2 hobby nya so gue ga maw maksain bandi. Si bandi tuh bisa loh seharian duduk depan TV megangin remote nonton HBO pdhal film nya udah pernah ditonton semua, yang penting ditemenin seloyang pizza. Lol. Gue sih bisa bosen gilak.

      • kalo nonton theatre gua belum pernah. maksudnya nonton musical gitu kan ya? tapi gua pengen banget. kayaknya gua bakal suka kalo nonton musical.

        yang gua pernah tuh nonton ballet. padahal ballet nya sleeping beauty jadi kan udah tau ya (gak aneh gitu), dan dari ballet company dari perancis jadi bagus. tapi ternyata ballet is not my cup of tea. ngantuk banget gile! hahaha

      • Musical si bandi bisa tonton tapi yang american macam addams family gitu. Kalo yg classical dia tidur juga. Kalo theatre ga pake nyanyi man. Theatre yg pernah gue tonton semuanya shakespeare punya macam macbeth dan othello. Itu oke kok menurut gue. Cuma si bandi ended up tidur lagi. Hahahaha. Musical nya juga pilih2 man. Laskar pelangi tuh keren banget!!!!!

  2. I am also shoe addict, May! Hehehe…tapi sejak nikah udah berkurang sik beli-beli sepatunya…soalnya udah gak terlalu sering ke mall juga sik :P
    Up ini emang merk yang bagus banget kayaknya…udah pernah pesen tapi masih belum yakin ttg ukuran kaki :|

  3. Had I been single at thirty I probably would have have fallen for an impulsive, romantic girl who loved football. (However at the time my still impulsive, romantic wife who loathed football, was pregnant of our second child though :)).

    But the Beegees, eh? Okay, but she should have had to agree to avoid ever getting near a disco together ‘-).

  4. I wonder how you’d think of Van Gogh Museum when you are in Amsterdam. When in Paris and if you like Monet or Impressionism in general I recommend you to visit le Musée d’Orangérie (Monet’s Waterlilies collection) and le Musée d’Orsay . Furthermore a big amen to love for shoes, food & colours. You are enjoying your life so it seems :-)

    • Oh I already arrange my time to spend whole day in both Rijksmuseum and Van gogh museum. For that special day I have asked bandi not to tag along and mind his own business. He said he will visit Amsterdam Arena instead. I don’t want anyone to disturb my date with Uncle Vincent. :p
      Yep I’m going to visit Orsay of course. I’ve already planned all the rooms i want to visit, you know to skip all the dramas and get to the point. :)

    • As for monet, I love his paintings too but honestly I don’t get why painters are obsessed with certain flower, like Van gogh with his sunflower. I have only seen monet’s daughters collection and they are all wonderful. I can’t wait to see it all!!! Aaahhh!!!! I can’t waiiitttt

  5. May, aku penasaran banget ama si UP itu tapiii takut gak enak. ternyata nyaman di kaki ya?? trus mauuu nyoba bungee jumping and sky diving karena si Matt suka banget ini tapiiiiiiiii kan kaki aku geli2 gitu kalo ada diatas huhuhu

  6. gue juga demeeeeeeeeeen ke art museumm.. dulu pas di Melb bisa siang2 bolong gw dateng ke art museum sendirian terus bengong disana berjam-jam. Eh tapi gw milih deng tergantung artnya apa. Demennya sih liat yg painting2 doang. Kalo yg struktur / bentuk2 gak jelas gitu gw gak ngerti indahnya apa hahaha..
    sebenernya ke museum itu menyenangkan, tapi entah kenapa yaaa byk org yg gak demen. Tiap kali jln2 gw pengen ke museum eh org2 bilang “idiiihhh ngapaiin, mending blanja/mkn yukkk”. BLAH!

    • Samaaaaa!!! Struktur2 gitu juga gue kagak ngerti. Gue sukanya yg paintingnya jelas. Painting orang atau objek yang jelas dan bisa diulik ceritanya, apalagi dr jaman renaissance. Aaaaaahhh bisa betaahhhh bener gue. :)

  7. Sayaa suka sepatuu!! Wedges dan High heels… Tapi kemana2 pakenya tetep flat shoes.. hikss.. Maklum, baru punya supir Kopaja belum supir pribadi..hahaha :p

  8. hahahhahhaa….gue sempet kepikiran ini juga pas gue mau ultah the big 3…tapi gak di list,…cuman di otak doank…tapi gue juga not a daredevil (nyali nya kecil, kalo kata nyokap)…hahahahhaha

Leave a Reply

