So you thought this only happens in movie?


Disclaimer: Open your mind before you read. Everything happens for reason. This is one of them.

This post has been in the draft page for a year. Seriously. A year. I am so scared of people’s judgemental comments and the fact that Bandi’s sucky friend would start to talk about me behind my back again. But then I thought, hey, I’m not 20 years old anymore. I’ve grown up, they’ve grown up. I must publish this post just for the sake of closure.

I wanted to name this post “September Roller Coaster: Season Finale” for some reason but then I went with ” So you thought this only happens in movie?” for a funny catch.

So here it is…

[All the words in green below is written on July 2012]

We will have to go back to a post that was originally posted on 4th September 2006, but then being asked to be removed by some people (not Bandi) because, well they simply couldn’t handle it. However, I left the other short post alive.

This is a beautiful love story. Why we need to erase this story and pretend this never happened?

Bandi was okay when I asked, can I post that story again? He said, nobody will ever question or doubt your love to me as your facebook is full of “dishes that I cook for Bandi”, “Bandi’s breakfast”, “Bandi’s lunch”, and “Bandi’s dinner.”

“Come on! You love me too much. That’s just history.”

So, first of all, you all need to read this post I made back then in 2006. I didn’t edit any of the words AT ALL so we all can feel the juvenile atmosphere. So pardon some of my misspelling. :p

[All the words in purple below is written on September 2006]

Our Love story is OURS…

1 September 2006

Gw tepuk bahunya dua kali, “Boleh kenalan gak?” trus gw julurin deh tangan gw.

Dia kaget setengah mati. Dalam keadaan yang penuh keringat dia jabat tangan gw. Masih terlalu senang karena masuk final sekaligus amazed ada cewe segila gw yang berjalan melewati GSG yang crowded dan nyamperin dia yang lagi celebrate victory bareng temen2nya.

“Alex.”

“Maytri. Boleh minta nomor Hpnya?”

It was just a joke. It was a bet that I made with my friend. Yes! Gw dibayarin makan gratis di sentra! Linni, Cipen, Litta, en semua yang ada di GSG ternganga liat kejadian itu. Karena emang cuma orang gila yang berani malu kuadrat hanya untuk tarohan makan gratis di Sentra.

Unpar baru aja kalah dari Binus,, en gw malah ngajakin kenalan anak Binus karena tarohan makan di Sentra???

But I did it! And I’m so thankful that I did it.

Karena kalo engga,, gak akan ada dua hari penuh magical itu.

~~~

Gak nyangka pas sorenya gw ke Sentra atas, gw ketemu segerombolan tim Binus yang lagi makan. Anjiiir, gw malu! Koor ‘cieeeeh’ langsung terdengar gitu.

Gak lama ada cewe yang nyamperin gw bawa digicam dan nanya, “Boleh minta fotonya gak?”

“Hmm… Boleh, tapi gw mawnya foto berdua!”

What the hell I was thinking???

Anak2 Binus ngompor2in Alex untuk foto sama gw, akhirnya dia nyamperin gw dan duduk di sebelah gw, dan acara foto-foto pun dimulai.

I still can’t believe that happened.

Setelah itu, temen2 gw en temen2 dia ninggalin kita berdua.

Gw dan Alex… Alex dan gw…

Ternyata kita itu…. orang yang pernah ketemu di kehidupan yang dulu??? Bisa dibilang gitu? Hmm,, kayanya….

Semua keluar dengan mudahnya… Gw cerita segala hal, semua prinsip hidup, apa yang maw gw accomplish dalam hidup, kuliah gw, novel gw, SEMUA!

Dia juga… tentang komiknya, seberapa cinta dia sama voli, darah rendah-nya, nyokapnya, temen2nya, impian dia…

Percaya gak sih kita ngobrol hampir 4 jam padahal gw baru aja kenal dia???

He keeps saying, “Hmm… Lucu… Lucu…”

Emang, semuanya lucu banget yah, Lex?

Then, dia anter gw pulang… yang lebih anehnya lagi, gw tanya, “Maw mampir dulu?”

“Boleh… liat-liat…”

Dan gw ninggalin dia di kamar gw sendirian!!! Gila kan?! Padahal gw baru kenal!!!

“Lo tunggu di sini dulu yah, gw maw cuci muka.”

How could you be so comfort with someone whom you just met?

Di saat itulah dia bilang, “Kalo suka sama seseorang, kita harus bilang perasaan kita.” Prinsip yang sama dengan gw!

Dia liat-liat nametag gw, origami gw, foto-foto gw, mengenal gw lebih dalam hanya dengan hitungan menit.

Gw kasih dia origami bikinan gw. Bintang warna-warni yang segede kepalan tangan. Disimpen yah, Lex!!!

Terus edwin dateng ngejemput. Gw, Linni, Cipen en Edwin maw pergi jalan2, so sekalian anter Alex ke wisma tempat dia nginep.

Hmm,, say goodbye is always the hardest thing to do. Tapi gw taw bakal ketemu lagi besok pas final.

Baru aja sampe tempat makan bubur, sms bunyi, “ALeX”

Malem itu kita ngobrol, kalo kita kayak udah kenal lama banget… We said sweet things. Dan gw tidur sambil senyum…..

2 September 2006

Ketemu Alex lagi!!! Mukanya lagi stress berat karena tegang maw final lawan atma jaya. Dengan sepenuh hati gw teriak2 waktu dia tanding, sampe pita suara gw rasanya maw putus.

2 set pertama Atma menang, 2 set selanjutnya Binus menang, set ke-5 jadi penentuan… Skor ngalamin deuce beberapa kali, sumpah tegang banget!! Huhuhu, sayang banget akhirnya Atma menang… Rasanya gw maw nangis… Padahal dia cerita kalo dia pengen banget ngalahin Atma karena temen deket dia yang dulu satu klub Voli bareng dia waktu SMU ada di atma, namanya Patrick. Mereka temen baik, tapi pas di lapangan, tetep aja rival. Yoi gak, Lex? (That’s what you said)

~~~

Alex shock, dan karena darah rendahnya, dia pingsan. DANG! Sumpah, gw takut banget, mungkin that was the moment that I realize that He meant something!!

Gw ikut waktu dia digotong ke Korgala, dan dengan segenap keberanian gw masuk ke Korgala,, ketemuin dia. Gw nemenin dia sampe dia bangun, en balik ke GSG.

Sampe pintu GSG, I said goodbye. Dia masuk ke GSG, ada acara serah terima piala, dll…

Gw jalan ke sentra, karena ditunggu Linni, Cipen en Litta di sana… Sesaat gw mikir… “IS THAT IT?” Udahkah? Ini endingnya? Apa iya abis ini gw gak ketemu dia lagi???

Koq dada gw rasanya sesak yah?

Duduk di Sentra, nemenin anak2 makan, gw kayak mau nangis… pengen liat dia lagi…

Tiba-tiba, HP bunyi… “ALeX” CALLING

WAAAAA!!!!

“Maytri! Lo dimana?”

“Di Sentra bawah… kenapa?”

“Gw mau ngenalin lo sama Patrick.”

“Kapan? Sekarang?”

“Iya…”

Gak lama kemudian dia samperin gw di sentra, en ngajak gw balik ke GSG, maw dikenalin ke Patrick.

Gw nanya, “dapet medali gak?” karena dia ngoleksi medali hasil tanding Voli.

“Enggak, dapet piala…”

“Oooh… sayang yah. Tapi gak apa-apa, cuma lo satu2nya pemain yang dapet bintang.”

“Hah, bintang?” dia bingung.

“Heeh, bintang warna-warni yang gw kasih kemaren.”

Sampe di GSG, gw dikenalin sama orang yang udah dia anggep kembarannya. Hmm,, gw juga jadi pengen kenalin dia ke Ucup, my best friend.

Setelah itu, we were unseparatable. Kita makan di sentra, dia cerita macem2 dari jokes2 goblok, cerita hantu, masa kecil, mantan2 pacar, en ngajak jalan.

Trus kita ke kost gw dulu, baru deh jalan (dalam keadaan gw gak mandi, en dia juga settingan abis tanding Voli. Hahahaha), rencananya maw ke de Kosmo en ke IP. Waktu nunggu angkot, dia suruh gw pake jaket dia, karena dia tau gw gampang masuk angin. Dan dia bilang, “Gw suka liat cewek pake jaket cowo…” So sweeeet… Karena udah malem, akhirnya naek St.hall-Ciumbuleuit yang belok, nah… gw kan gak taw harus naek apa pas turun di gandok, jadilah gw minta Alex bwat sms cipen. Pas itu ada cowok en cewek yang duduk di depan kita di dalam angkot. Cowoknya nanya, “maw ke IP?”

“He-eh.” Gw jawab.

“Nanti bareng saya aja… maw ke IP juga koq…”

Jadilah orang itu ngajak ngobrol. Ternyata yang cowok itu anak Hukum ’89 en ceweknya Ars 2002. Yang bikin gw seneng, mereka pikir gw en Alex itu teman satu SMU, padahal baru aja kenal… hehe.

Sampe di De Kosmo, kita cuma muter2 doang liat makanan, tapi gw gak taw maw makan apa, jadi kita langsung ke IP. Dari situ dia udah mulai sering nurunin bando gw. Nyebelin… tapi ngangenin. :p

Dari de Kosmo ke IP kita jalan… talked about stuff like falling in love and so on…

Pas di ditulah gw bilang, “Lex… lo muncul di saat yang tepat banget yah…”

Sampe IP, Alex terus2an becanda, Gosh, he was so funny! Kita ke food court, akhirnya gw laper… gw pesen McD deh. For the first time of my life, rasa fillet o fish datar banget!!! Aneh…

Di food court itulah pembicaraan tentang ‘apakah kita berdua ini mungkin?’ dimulai.

Bisa gak kita long distance?

Apa iya kita itu jodoh?

Blah3x… Yang pasti saat itu, I didn’t give a damn, gw cuma maw nikmatin apa yang ada sekarang… That I’m with him… And I’m extremely happy in an actual definition.

“Maytri… fotobox yuks!”

Hahahaha! Gw seneng banget waktu dia bilang itu!!!

“Yuks! Cepetan sebelum tutup!” krn skrg emang udah jam 9! Buru2lah kentangnya diabisin en ngacir ke M Studio. Pas jalan ke M itulah dia bilang, “Seandainya kita berada di kota yang sama… gw pasti udah nembak lo…”

seandainya… seandainya….

“Lex… lo taw perasaan gw ke elo, kan?”

“Taw kok… gw juga suka sama lo… gw happy sama lo.”

“Gw gak suka sama lo kok… mungkin bakal kdengeran stupid, tapi… gw udah jatuh cinta sama lo…”

To qoute “A Lot Like Love”…

If you’re not stupid, then you don’t deserve to be in love.

Dalam waktu kurang dari 2×24 jam, May??? How come??? Gw sendiri masih belum percaya,, tapi gw yang ngerasain!!!

Ini fotobox-nya!

Ini fotobox-nya!

~~~

Beres fotobox,, dia ngajak gw ke GAME MASTER!!! Uuuuh! Buat orang2 yang mengenal gw dgn baik,, pasti taw kalo gw maw banget ngedate maen game! Gw kaget banget!

I always wanted to go to this kind of place on my date!!!

Damn you Alex, for making tonight so perfect!

Di game master kita maen macem2, dia ngajak gw maen DDR Drum machine itu loh! Gw kan gak bisa, “Gak maw aaah! Gak bisaaa!”

“Gw juga, udah, coba aja!! Apa sih yang gak bisa?”

Bener…. bener banget!

Truz maen racing, truz kita maen PANIC PARK!!! Oh I love that game!!!! Lucu banget! Semua orang HARUS, WAJIB nyoba maen game itu!!! Gw maen ampe dengkul gw biru en keringetan… Hosh… Hosh… And he did sweet thing that moment :)

Liat gw keringetan, dia nyeka keringet gw pake tangannya!!! Mampus gak tuh! Anjiir lu, Lex! Dasar buaya darat!!

Kita di game master sampe game master tutup, en pas keluar game master, IP udah gelap. Hahaha!

Gw inget pas turun eskalator, Alex ngomong, “Seandainya lo cewek gw…”

Huaaaaaaaaaa!! Iya… seandainya…. T.T

“Umm… sebenernya bisa koq, kalo emang lo maw…”

“Emang lo maw coba LD??” DANG! Bingung dah gw ditanya begitu. Prinsip gw tuh, amit2 gw sampe LD! Gak sanggup gw…

“Lex… kalo gw bilang gw maw… gw gak yakin bisa, gw gak maw nantinya ngerusak 2 hari yang perfect ini. Tapi kalo gw bilang gak maw… gw gak maw kehilangan lo…”

Hiks, dilemma.

I just don’t want to ruin it,, so please,, don’t talk about it.

Dari IP naek angkot sekali, turun di gandok… dia cerita kalo sebenernya pas tanding dia maw meluk gw… :) jujur yah, Lex… sebenernya waktu di GSG itu, gw udah maw nyamperin lo sebelum lo tanding…

~~~

Dari gandok kita jalan… sepanjang jalan, we held hand in hand. Saat itu gw sadar… dalam beberapa menit, dia bakal pergi dari kehidupan gw.

2 hari yang gila ini bakal berakhir….

Sepanjang jalan, kita ngobrol… saat2 dimana gw paling merasa nyaman bersama dia… gw bisa cerita semua hal yang gw gak kepikiran… saat2 dia bisa cerita jokes2 gobloknya, en kalo gw bilang, “Lo goblok banget seh, Lex!” dia bakal jawab, “Iyalah, gw kan IPS…”

“TERUUUUS??? Gw juga!” Hahaha,, sering banget yah Lex…

Dia juga nanya, kapan gw first kiss… Gw bilang, gak pernah… Gw bilang gw mau first kiss gue sama suami gue, trus dia ketawain se-tolol-tololnya. Kurang ajar.

Gw inget every detail semua kejadian yang terjadi 2 hari itu, pas di depan premierre, dia bilang, “Mungkin kita emang jodoh yaa…”

Huhuhu…. iya! Iya! Pasti!

Sampe kosan, dia nelpon taxi… en nunggu di kamar sambil merenung, huaaa,, abis ini kita gak akan ketemu lagi. Dia bakal ke Enhai, nginep semalem en besok siang pulang ke Jakarta.

Dia minta pendapat gw apakah dia harus ngelepasin Voli karena dia sibuk banget sama DKV en kegiatan2 dia… Dia ngerasa gak sanggup kalo semuanya tetep dijalanin. En gw bilang, “JANGAN!!!”

“Kenapa?”

Inget kan Lex, jawaban kita? Kita ngomong sama-sama…

Karena gara-gara Voli, kita ketemu…

Jujur yah, Lex… gw gak pernah bilang ini ke elo, taw gak… Gw suka banget liat lo maen Voli… Penuh semangat, selalu bisa ngebangkitin semangat tim lo. So, jangan dilepasin yaah… Lo menginspirasi gw untuk tetep semangat dalam hidup. Lo yang selalu bilang ke gw kan, apapun yang terjadi, gw harus semangat.

Gw terdiam cukup lama, mikir… apa jadinya hidup gw setelah ini… Setelah gw ketemu soulmate gw, terus ditinggal… Disorder kayak apa yang nanti bakal gw rasain…?

Tiba-tiba… He kissed me.

It just happened.

Dia cium pipi gw. A stolen kiss… Nggak pernah terpikir kalau pertama kali dicium cowok bakal stolen kiss…

Taw gak, saat itu, jantung gw pindah posisi ke perut. GOD, gw gak pernah ngerasain perut gw tiba2 mules banget kayak diaduk2 pake sendok semen! Muka gw pasti cengo banget saat itu. Sekitar 5 detik gw mencerna semuanya, gw pukul paha Alex kenceng banget. “BABI LO LEX!!! Itu first kiss gw yaaaa!!!!”

Alex cengar-cengir aja. “Kan di pipi,, yang di bibir buat suami lo..”

Gw rasa itu lucu banget… hihihi… Alex… Alex… dasar orang gila!

“Lex, lo gila ya?!”

“Gara-gara siapa gue gila?”

Hmm,, gw gak akan lupa every single word that you said, Lex..

Kita berdua gila. Bukan elo doang. Gue juga gila…

Sedihnya, Hpnya bunyi, ditelpon sama Blue Bird. Damn! Kenapa sih sinyal hari itu mesti bagus!! T.T

Gw anter dia ke depan… sebelum naek taxi, gw peluk dia eraaaaaaat banget… Gak maw gw lepasin rasanya… sampe mati juga.

But I had to… And I let him go…

Pcaya apa engga, pas taxi udah pergi, air mata gak berhenti2nya turun selama 10 menit ke depan. Gw kayak orang goblok yang ngegembok pintu sambil nangis, terus ngetok2 kamar Linni. “Liiiin….”

Pas Linni buka pintu kamar dan ngeliat tampang gw yang udah banjir banget, dia langsung shock. “Ya ampun, Maaay! Lo kenapa? Diapain lo sama Alex???”

Diapain sama Alex…?

Dicium?

Ditinggal?

Apa yah?

Hmm…. Dibikin jatuh cinta…

3 September 2006

Call me crazy, pas Alex bangun jam 10 pagi (si BABI emang), gw langsung ngacir ke Enhai, dianter Billy… (THANKS a lot Bil!!!!)

Gw ketemu dia untuk yang terakhir kali… Ngeyakinin kita berdua kalo gak mungkin bisa long distance, so… it’s that last time we said goodbye. Pas jalan di koridor enhai, dia nurunin bando gw lagi… Gw kesel banget karena rambut gw jadi berantakan, tapi gw taw… jailnya dia itu bakal ngangenin.

Gw gak bisa lama2, ditunggu Billy, so gw harus pulang. Dia anter gw ke motor, dan untuk yang terakhir kali juga, gw peluk dia lagi… Lex, lo harus tau kalo saat itu gw nahanin nangis. Entah kenapa gw gak maw nangis di depan lo… Mungkin karena gw gak maw image ‘crayon orange’ gw di mata lo rusak.

Waktu peluk dia, gw ngomong…

“Lex… inget yah…

1. kalo suka sama cewe lain, harus bilang gw…

2. Apalagi kalo sampe jadian…

3. Sering2 telpon gw…

4. Jangan pernah lupain gw… dan 3 hari terakhir ini

5. Kalo lawan atma lagi, menang yah! Hehhe…”

Dan pesan dia cuma satu,

“Kalo lo gak yakin sama perasaan lo, kalo lo gak ngerasain apa yang lo rasain skrg, jangan jalanin hubungan… karena cuma bakal nyakitin.”

Then, that’s it… I went away. Billy, mungkin lo gak taw, sepanjang jalan gw nangis di atas motor… goblok banget. Gw jadi gila… semuanya jadi abu-abu…

I’ve just found my soulmate and I’ve just lost him. How ironic is that?

Pas udah di kosan pun, gw gak berhenti nangis di kamar Cipen… goblok… goblok… gw jadi gila neh, kayaknya….

~~~

Waktu denger cerita ini, banyak tanggepan2 aneh dari orang2… antara, “Aaaaw… I envy you!”

“Alaaaah… itu mah bukan sayang!”

“Easy comes easy goes…”

“Pertahanin dia, May!”

Atau cuma ketawa sinis….

Joan yang paling lucu, dengan wajah pura2 lugu dia nanya, “Ini true story, kan?”

Yup, kalo ada orang yang ceritain gw kayak gini, mungkin gw juga akan ternganga gak percaya. “Ini true story bukan seeeh??”

I know it’s too impossible to be true, but I’ve felt it… with my soulmate… how great is that?

Bwat orang2 yang menanggapi cerita ini dengan sinis, gw cuma bisa bilang… Don’t be so cynical about this kind of love just because you haven’t felt it. Gw percaya kok, semua orang punya Alex-nya masing2… It’s just my luck to find him first.

Don’t look for your destiny, it’ll come to you after all…

Bwat Yoan, *speechless*, abis udah keluar semua pas kelas PerpPol. :P

Bwat Linni, Cipen, en Litta (para saksi hidup), kalo gak ada tarohan itu, gak akan ada ini semua.

Bwat Cupy, gw pengen banget ngenalin dia ke elo!!!

Bwat semua yang baca,, mungkin aneh, mustahil, apalah,, sayang hanya dalam waktu 2 hari… But it happens!!! I felt it! Gak ada yang lebih real lagi deeh!!!

Bwat Alex… Gimana nyong?! Gw udah bikinin blogs bwat lo neh! Gw gak pernah gak yakin sedikitpun sama perasaan sayang kita kok! En gw juga gak pernah nyesel sama semua yang terjadi selama dua hari itu… Cepetan publish komik lo! Biar novel gw happy ending! Inget janji lo di IP! En gw bakal selalu inget kata2 lo… Tetep semangat!!! En… “kalo emang lo jodoh gw… Kita pasti bakal ketemu lagi.” you always said that.

Alex…

Meeting you was Fate

Knowing you was Choice

But Falling in love with you… is totally out of my control.

-May, Septemberollercoaster 2006-

Today, six years after that happened, I finally look back and smile. No, not smile, I laugh!

Come on, it’s a beautiful story and we’re friends now, why not laugh about it? This “falling in love with stranger” thing is like one of my wildest fantasy since I was nine years old! Guess I attract universe to finally give this story for me. =)

FYI, this all happened when Bandi and I were in 3 months relationship and apparently one day before I met Alex, we decided to go “on a break”, giving each other space. Right after I came back saying goodbye to Alex, I went to Bandi’s place and broke up with him.

I should make a point now that I was doing Bandi a favor by really breaking up with him instantly after I gained my conscience back from the fairy tale. However we were on a break. (Not that I agree with Ross sleeping with other woman while he and Rachel were on a break. LOL)

Falling in love with Alex was inevitable. And the least I could do was being fair to Bandi by breaking up with him.
Well, like Kurt Cobain said, it’s better to be yourself and everyone hates you than become somebody else and everyone loves you.

For all of Bandi’s friends who were calling me a slut and people who accused me of cheating and whatever, this might be the answer for you for “Why did you do that to the nicest guy on earth?”

For me, I think what I did was right. I could have just played victim and stepped on the two boats, nobody knows right? (Nobody unless hundred of people on GSG watching me asking for his number. LOL) Or I could just go back to my normal life with Bandi and pretended like nothing happened.

But hey something happened. I fell in love and I will never lie of what I feel. So instead of being so angelic, I became a devil instead. I did let go the two of them.

Because it is the right thing. I was being fair.

You could comment anything and say that technically I was cheating but in my defense, falling in love with Alex was inevitable. He would have done exactly the same thing if he had a girlfriend.

Do you know what cheating is? It is having two or more love affairs in the same time under your conscience!!! (bold and underlined with three exclamation points!)

I wasn’t in my conscience on that time. It was a three days fantasy, and once after I came back to reality, the first thing I did was telling Bandi about it. And when he asked, “so what do you wanna do about it now?” I did the right thing, I said we should break up.

So what happened after Bandi and I broke up? Did I try a relationship with Alex? Hmm, I can’t really call it a relationship because what we did most of the times was arguing over the phone and remember back then inter-city phone calls weren’t cheap. We were only a student then and didn’t have spare money to buy train tickets to visit each other and we were so busy with college life we didn’t have time to console each other’s feelings. We were miserable and I must say everything was really hard with him. Because he was a male version of me. He was stubborn, selfish and crazily romantic.

We were falling in too fast and couldn’t wait to go out as fast. We made a mistake by taking the fantasy to the reality. Alex and me were bad news. In the end we did hurt each other more than we fell in love to each other.

Now the question is, after all this time, if now another Alex comes again into my life, will I do the same thing? No.

1. My feeling now is totally different from what I had with Bandi back then. We had only been together for 3 months and those were boring 3 months. And to be honest, if the Alex thing didn’t hit him that hard, he would stay boring for the rest of his life.

2. Things like this won’t happen twice.

3. I wouldn’t do juvenile thing like accepting a bet for a free lunch and ask a guy’s phone number in my age now. (You see the point? I was just being juvenile and that’s what we did on our college times.)

I knew this would be a controversial post, but I don’t give a fuck. For what it’s worth, everything happens for reason. I believe that.

However Bandi and I are together now, being stronger than ever. When I ask Bandi whether he’s scared of me ever do that again, he said no. “You and Alex were in the same city when I was in US for two years, and you didn’t even have thoughts of meeting him.” Well he’s freakin right!!

“You love me just too much. All you do is thinking about me, you don’t have time for drama.”

The climax for this post would be this:

So, the other night, Alex just showed up on my whatsapp, out of the blue, apologizing of what he did 6 years ago. I know he apologized before but somehow this time, it just felt so right. We talked in the middle of 2 am in the morning and we spent like one hour straight just to chat.

I used to say that he was my darkest hour before dawn and here it is, another surprise from universe, this story really ended in a dawn.

Like Alex said and I quote: “Once again, I apologize to you. I hurt you before and I’m sorry for that. I remembered you told me on 2007 that you feel like slapping my face. You know what? I deserved that.”

Anyway, we did meet again exactly one year after that. I post about it here.

Here’s some peek of the chat. I’ve edited the personal stuffs though.

Alex convo

I told him I already forgave him long time ago and I’m so glad he has grown so much from a very selfish guy to be this wise man and you know what? It’s because of a girl. (It’s always LOVE that conquers all! Yaiy!)

He also said he will definitely come if Bandi and I get married someday and will draw us for free! (He’s a professional illustrator now :)) He said he’s so glad we’re friends now, which we both should become in the first place. Please, Alex was like a male version of me, we should have been bestfriend since the beginning if there were no romance and drama involved!

He said he always knew Bandi was the one for me, that he never gave up on me through all those things and he said he also owe Bandi an apology. Well, that would be an epic moment when he apologize to Bandi. LOL

We agreed on two things: one, that what we felt for those three days was real and let it be just a beautiful fantasy. Two, everything really does happen for reason. That happened to me so Bandi and I would be like today and that happened to him so he would grow up (even he just realized 6 years later) and when he finally met this girl, he knew what love really is. =)

I’m so glad Alex and I talked it out.

For every pain and hurt that we costed each other six years ago, I’m so grateful it happened. It was a part of growing up.

Now is the time for my sotoy philosophy…

The reason why I made this post is that we should not run from our past or pretend it never happened by not talking about it. We have to make closure for every issues that we had in order to move forward. I believe that.

I personally love to have a closure with Alex and finally Bandi is okay talking about it, even though he still doesn’t want to mention the “A” name. haha

Don’t try too hard though to make a closure as it might not the time yet. Just remember everyone has different timeline and different standard of dealing with problems and pain. Let the time heals everything. Don’t lose faith. The closure will come, eventually.

Because time really does heal everything.

May, 17th July 2012.

Geez, It’s kinda weird that I read it again now, my life is so awesome!! Haha! How many people out there get to have an apology from a guy who hurt her so much 6 years before. And this post has been laying there in the draft page for a reason. You know what’s the reason? So I can make an inception post like this. Hahaha! A post inside a post inside a post. If this doesn’t make my blog awesomeness level went up, I don’t know what will.

Anyway, enough with the non-sense.

To comment about the story, seven years after, I just want to say… for all the excuses I made and the argues I tried to validate… I still think it’s the right thing to do even seven years later. What I did was right. (still)

This is gonna be my last post ever talking about this Alex guy. This is the season finale and I like the ending. We’re not best friend anyway like we said on the whatsapp one year ago because it would be weird for Bandi and Alex’s girlfriend if we’re bestfriend, this is not a sitcom.

We’re just a friend who wishes each other Happy birthday and talk once in a while especially when he’s about to show some of his drawing stuffs to me. But we’re cool. He’s living his dream and I live mine. =)

I don’t know what kind of sentences would be perfect to end this series of drama. I have been staring at the blinking cursor for the last 30 seconds and there’s no perfect words to say.

I guess…

Life is unpredictable.

One minute you had it all, the other you lost it. It’s so scary that your life and everything attached to you is mortal.

However life is too short not to fall in love head over heels. To really fall.

To fall in love and then to be heart broken and then to learn and to let go and to move on. That’s okay.

That’s life. Don’t be scared. Time will heal and you will be healed too.

Have your heart broken is inevitable, being miserable is optional. =)

Afterall, It’s always fun to hear a love story, no matter how bad the ending is… And you can always change your point of view and turn it around to be a happy ending.

P.S: For the twenty years old Alex and the twenty years old May: You two are damn cute! I’m glad you guys took the chance. =)

Cheers,

May, 26th July 2013

61 thoughts on “So you thought this only happens in movie?

  1. well, nice one may!!!
    gw males komen panjang – panjang .. pokoknya intinya gw udah baca, angguk2, ikut cengengesan, ngebayangin waktu itu gimana .. dan last not least haha foto boxnya ajib yeee!!!! hahahaha ..

  2. Paling suka kata-kata ininya :
    “Life is unpredictable.
    One minute you had it all, the other you lost it. It’s so scary that your life and everything attached to you is mortal.”
    Bener banget itu…! Ga ada yang salah kok dalam kisah kamu… soalnya … “Life is unpredictable…and so is love…” jadi, menurutku semua yang kmu jalanin pasti ada maksud dan tujuannya dalam kehidupanmu, entah apa, cuma May aja yang bakalan tau… :)

  3. Wohoooo!!!… Emang beneran gak cuma terjadi di sinetron2 abegeh indonesia yah, atau memang sinetron justru terinspirasi dari kisah nyata.. Gilakkk.. Hebatt bangett lu May, trima tantangan demih makan gratis.. Ahhh.. Kerenn.. Soale gw pasti ga akan berani..ya ya ya..

    Selebihnya gw speechless mau komen apa, semua yg lo tuliss bener dan bahkan ada yg gw rasain pernah rasain juga.. Tapi di gw bukan cuma dari temen2nya Ai, dari temen2 gue juga ngomong sama “Why did you do that to the nicest guy on earth?”.. Tapi memang itu hal yg terelakan, yang bisa terjadi selanjutnya adalah gw bersyukur semua masalah itu bisa terjadi.

    Ahhh..gilakk.. Masih nganga gw baca true story ini.. Akhir yang luar biasa cetar kata syahroni :D

    • Well, gue percaya there are always two sides of stories. You must have your own reason to do whatever you have to do. :)
      Don’t let other people get in your head py :)

  4. May… dari cerita panjang ini… gw mau komen 1 hal: Lo waktu itu udah pacaran 3 bulan sama Bandi, tapi stolen kiss dari Alex itu first kiss lo? LOL Bandi sopan sekali ya kayanya? :p

    Eh tapi bener tuh point2 terakhir lo, lo salah satu orang yang beruntung karena pria yang menyakiti lo bertaun2 lalu bisa2nya minta maaf. Pria yang menyakiti gw bertaun2 lalu and also stole my first kiss, gak sadar2 tuh sampe sekarang. Dia malah kayaknya memposisikan diri jadi victim tuh :p *loh kok jadi curhat*

    • Hahaha sopan ya? I felt it was boring. Bandi was that guy who always said yes to anyyythinggg and didn’t even dare to touch me because he “respect” women. You know lah that old fashion guy.
      So yeah I was bored. I know i was bad, but i was so young. I wanted excitement. Hahahaha :p
      Wowww kurang ajar tuh cowok yang malah memposisikan dirinua jadi victim. Apa maksud nya tuh?! Gampar din gampaaaar! (Lho?)

  5. ih may, gw berasa kaya baca novel deh baca cerita lo itu. kaya baca teenlit gitu. and i enjoyed it. (maklum hari jumat, butuh hiburan hahaha).
    lucu banget sii mayyy,… abege benerrr… bahasa lo juga abege bener… makanya lucuu.. trus beneran bisa ngerasain rasanya hehe.
    dan gw salut lo bisa ceritain ini di blog, with real name (is it?). kalo gw, pasti bakal gw sensor abis2an, supaya ga nyinggung siapa2, walo pasangan uda setuju di publish juga (which is, utin si ga bakal kasih jg kl gw nulis2 soal gini. bukan ga kasih karena jeles, tapi karena ga ada gunanya buat dia haha)

    • Hahaha iya ya berasa abege nya. Tiap gua baca lagi juga gue ngakak dan malu sendiri. Hahahaha.
      Anyway it took really one year for me to figure it out whether I should or should not publish this post. I go with publishing this in the end. I just feel I need to do this before I marry Bandi. To have closure to this one hell of feeling I had back then.
      :)
      Thank you for reading yah de. Anyway bukunya udah shipped to your office yaaaa! Enjoy!

  6. First of all gua pengen bilang…Mayyy, lu waktu muda IMUT BANGETTT!!!!! >_<
    Sayang gua ga kenal lu lebih cepet, kalo ga mungkin Bandi bakal nambah saingan *plaaak

    Oke2, udah cukup ngerayunya, sekarang komen yg sebenernya…*ehem*

    I read this post when I was inside a bus from Changi to Marina Parade…
    The first time I read this was like…wow…I'm speechless…
    So I choose to read it for the 2nd time and yeah, it's like I'm watching a movie or a novel by Nicholas Sparks, but from the way you tell the story, it left a bittersweet taste in my heart
    It's so sweet, and yet it's aching…

    I'm happy that in the end you can look back at this story and smile. It took a great amount of courage and a very big heart to be able to move on from this kind of romance. I really hope that you and Bandi will have that "happily ever after" kind of life in the years to come, just like in the fairytale, because YOU deserved it.

    Thanks for sharing this, May. I'm still Emotionally Fluttered by it…T.T

    • First of all gue maw jawab… BERARTI SKRG GA IMUT LAGIII?!!! Grrr hahaha ya iyalah umur berapa lo skrg maaayy?! (Dijawab sndr)
      Anyway, it wasn’t as easy as it seemed. I wrote it like it was so easy to move on, it wasn’t. It took so much tears and countless sleepless nights and I was so miserable… until I realized I had to move on and took this as a good lesson.
      And then I changed. To be a better person.And then i fell in love with Bandi and I realized that true love fights for you. :)
      Ahh long story deh. We’ll catch up tomorrow. :)

  7. gue bacanya seneng banget deh kayak baca novel :D, kalau diasahnya udah ampe kayak gitu udah gape lah bikin plot twist ;). Ayooo nulis2 lagi, gue juga lagi nulis2 nih >.< *buka kartu* tapi trilogi gitu, terus baru buku 1 mau ngirim gak jadi2 =)), abis ini gue kasih deadline deh biar beneran jadi, ayo semangat juga Maaay :D

  8. Aduh Mayyy… Post ini sungguh buat gw senyum2, hehehe. Ternyata ga hanya di Asian tv dramas ya cerita spt ini :) I love yourhonesty and wisdom you learned after this experience. Thank you for sharing something so personal to you on this space. Also, I adore the 20y/o May. :)

  9. for 20 years old May : Seru banget sih.. bener2 gelora cinta 20an hahaha experience is the best teacher :D
    for 26 years old May : wait, 26 apa 27 may? ahahaha ah :) u dan bandi memang deserved each other.. kalo menurut me ya.. pasangan seharusnya ya memang seperti kalian, sama-sama tetep bisa bertumbuh, berubah menjadi lebih baik.. sayangnya banyak yang malah grown apart ya..

    lega kali ya may perasaan nya kalo uda ada closure gitu? ehehe lucky you, dapet permintaan maaf dari seseorang yg sudah menyakiti hati.

    • Aku 22 tahun skrg me!!! Hahahah delusional. Sayangnya 27 nih, going on 28. :)
      Heeh betul banget grow together to be better and better and better. Me and tonce juga gitu :)

  10. menurut gua emang usia2 20-an itu udah sewajarnya kalo kita melakukan hal2 yang spontan ya. karena emang bisanya ya dilakukan pas umur2 segitu. kalo ada yang gak melakukan, malah rugi lho. huahahaha.

    asal jangan keterusan aja. kalo sampe sekarang masih gitu ya, kurang pas lagi rasanya ya. harusnya udah bisa settled. :D

    jadi kalo sampe ada yang ngomongin elu yang gak enak, gak usah dimasukin ati. sirik aja orang itu. lagian bandi nya aja gak kenapa2.. ya gak… :)

  11. Hahaha hari ini lo menemukan gw komen di bbrp postingan lo deh. Gw lagi catch up nih, akibat lama gak eksis.

    Wah May… I dont know, but I wanna say Im glad that you’re with Bandi. Disamping karena you two look so cute together, kan ceritanya jadi lebih seru gituuuu hahahahaha… ya kan?? Kalo lo akhirnya beneran jadian sama Alex, terus pindah jakarta atau dia pindah bandung, merit, punya anak… bla bla bla… cerita kehidupan lo jadi gak seseru ini kan??? Ketebak aja gituuu… hahaha…

    You’re right, It’s always fun to hear a love story, no matter how bad the ending is. Makanya walopun postingan lo panjang bener, gw bacain sampe abis!

  12. Pingback: boys of the past | domesticated life

  13. I think its sweet May! To be young and recklessly in love, that’s just uber cute and sweet. Walo pas awal2 gue bingung, kirain in cerita lo dan Bandi.

  14. O my, so romantic. Understanding only 50% of this intricate “Matryoshka doll” kind of entry”, I can’t but say : “Gee, May… and Bandi rules” . And very rightly so:).

    PS: About boring, usually very trustworthy, guys/girls : In the course of years some boring periods are very healthy in any relationship in my opinion :)

    • Honestly I kinda think Matryoshka doll is scary. A friend of mind brought it from Russia and I was having sleepover in her room and geez I couldn’t stand the doll staring at me and knowing that there are three more inside. LOL.
      Creepy. Just creepy.
      This is the first time I hear that boring periods are healthy in relationship and I guess I’m gonna trust you. You’re my relationship guru! Haha
      You and babe are…. Legendary!!!! Hearing you say me and bandi rock is like a very huge compliment! :)

  15. I want to salute you,May. For being BRAVE!!!
    You were brave to pursue what you feel is right when you were in early 20s,
    You were brave to be truthful afterwards to Bandi (even though I am sure it must be difficult),
    You were brave to try the LD relationship and see if it was something worth fighting for
    And you are brave to disclose the story not only to Bandi but to all of us.

    And to Bandi, I salute you for being you.

  16. hahhaha aku kebayang lho May, macam di komik Jepang. Setiap orang yg kita temui kan emang bukan kebetulan ya, aku suka caramu bilang the way kau dan Bandi sekarang bisa begini kan juga hasil bentukan kejadian yang dulu. *hihi Bandi, kamu jadi lebihfun ya skrg* Dan hahahaha, as much as I love this post, aku juga gak setuju Ross sleep with another woman pas break sama Rachel huahahaha

    • Hahaha AADC! A blast from the past! :) (kalo ngomongin aadc ntar ketauan tua nya kita :p)
      Wow i love honest people who bluntly tell they love drama. Soo going to visit your blog!!!
      :)

  17. serasa baca novel may…ih ih ih pake nge-quote nirvana pulak..*baca sampe abis* So sweet dan omaigat, gw jg mo bilang..Sodara sodara ini ga hanya di pelem yah kejadian so desperately in love in matter of days, karena saya pun mengalami nya! sampe nikah pula..hahaha! loe imut beneeerrr sih di poto box inih? and i’d say this is a perfect post finale for the topic :)

  18. gue nih ya, always ketinggalan postingan lu deh may… tp emang somehow sengaja sih, jadi biar sekaligus baca beberapa entry. hehehe… honestly, the younger version of you tetep aja mirip ama the younger version of me!! (even though gue ga pernah ada kejadian ky gini sih, but i imagined if i were in your position, i would have done exactly the same thing LOL). i enjoyed reading this one so much, thanks for being brave and posted it regardless of what shallow people might think. :D

  19. mayy.. ihh.. gw senyum2 sendiri baca posting-an elo. ahahahha.. seru bngt cerita 2 hari.nyaa
    gw pernah ngalamin hal yg gt2 juga dulu pas sma. muhahaha.
    lagi tanding basket antar SMA.. terus ketemu cowo yg akhirnya minta kenalan sama gw. dll2.. hahaha..
    dan skrng gw sama dia pun juga berteman. haha..
    tapi emang bener may yah kadang, quote yg tteng “Once in awhile, right in the middle of an ordinary life, love gives us a fairy tale”
    some spices in ordinary life gt kadang2. hehe

  20. hihi first comment.. ga tahan utk ga komen soalnya.. critanya beneran kaya di komik2 love story gt.. gw ikutan deg2an, kebayang deh perasaannya..makanan apapun terasa hambar soalnya salting ga jelas… gue ngerti banget rasanya falling in love within a minute.. i trust that :D

  21. Hidup emang nggak logis, tapi seringkali orang2 malah selalu berusaha untuk hidup dalam kelogisan… Nice story, Mbak, dan salam kenal… hehehe

  22. Hai Mei, just came across your blog and this post got my eye because Alex is my high school friend :p hehe. Nice blog by the way, I’m enjoy reading it :)

Leave a Reply

