The beauty in everyday life


This morning I went to work with Bandi because he needed to go to his client’s office which coincidentally located near to my office. We spent one hour in the train talking about stuffs. When we finally got seats and sat I took out three postcards from my bag. He asked me what those are and whom those are from.

I told him it’s my postcrossing hobby. He knows about my postcrossing but only this time he read the postcards together with me. I showed him the three postcards I received the day before and one of them is the Neuschwanstein Castle that we will visit this October.

The postcards pictures from Germany, Shanghai, and Thailand.

The postcards pictures from Germany, Shanghai, and Thailand.

My favorite part: reading what strangers say!

My favorite part: reading what strangers say!

Bandi laughed when I showed him the stamp from the Thai postcard. “It’s so cuteee!” I shrieked. Then he asked me whether I knew all of the flag and you know what? I DIDN’T!! Lol.

Bandi, in the other hand, always likes to be mr. smart-ass so he was like, “This is Brunei, Myanmar and Laos.”

The cutest and the longest stamp ever!

The cutest and the longest stamp ever!

Then I realized, I only forgot the flags of the places I never traveled to! so it’s true that traveling does make me smarter! Hahaha. Another reason to go traveling, riiiight?!

So we talked and Bandi asked me, “Why do you still have time for things like this?”

“Like what??”

“Like sending postcards to strangers and creating stupid games?”

(Stupid games refers to this: see below picture)

Photo 2-7-13 10 11 51 AM

Then I realized, WHAT THE F? I’ve been wasting to much time for….

DOING AWESOME STUFFS LIKE THIS? Hwahahahahah!

I love to host and create games like this. For me, it’s having fun. And yeah, I spent time to find nice postcards according to the stranger’s request and also paid for stamps but I enjoyed it. :)

Since my life is pretty much flat, go to work, saving money and loving the same person over and over again, I figure I must make some fun and excitement along the way.

I was asked why do I have such a boring job, well… because I need the money. HAHAHAHA!

I did work as a journalist for 4 months but didn’t enjoy the non-stop working hours and I couldn’t write things I wanted. Then I worked as a teacher that I LOVE but then yeah, the money is not that good. Passion versus money right?

I’m the least materialistic person you’ll know but I feed my parents and I want to go travel around the world. So I put my priority over my passion. That’s just my decision.

Anywaaay, back to the little beauty in everyday life, I enjoy postcrossing so much. Basically I love snail mails and writing with my hand. You know what’s the most excited thing about my wedding? WRITING the save-the-dates and invitations! It would be so fun! Haha.

I put some of the postcrads I received from postcrosssing before…

From Miami, USA.

From Miami, USA.

From Sydney, Australia

From Sydney, Australia

Postcards from Ukraine and Finland.

Postcards from Ukraine and Finland.

Postcard from Netherland, but on the same day I got my Anne Frank book delivered so I took it together because they are both are from Amsterdam! =D

Postcard from Netherland, but on the same day I got my Anne Frank book delivered so I took it together because they are both are from Amsterdam! =D

The latest postcard. This is Montmartre, the neighborhood I'm about to live in Paris later. The sender Angie wrote it in French! And I totally got it! (Guess my French Tutor did a good job!)

The latest postcard. This is Montmartre, the neighborhood I’m about to live in Paris later. The sender Angie wrote it in French! And I totally got it! (Guess my French Tutor did a good job!)

So yeah Bandi, I wasted too much time doing stuffs like this, and spending money for those stuffs but I live every seconds of my life laughing on simple things too.

And you love me for that, don’t you, don’t you!!!

Admit it laaaaaah!

Don’t put your life on hold, no matter what.

Either you must do the work you don’t like or you must live in the city you hate… you can always find a little part of the beauty in everything. Don’t waste even one day being grumpy. (well unless you’re on PMS)

Live everyday happy and grateful.

Cheers,

May, sticking stamps.

21 thoughts on “The beauty in everyday life

  1. stamp dari thailand unik bangeeeeeeeet ya mei…
    2 Hal yang aku suka dari kirim2an kartupos itu adalah bagian ngebaca pesan dari sipengirim lebih panjang kalimat semakin seru :D dan prangko pastinya :)

  2. iya lucu banget sih itu perangkonya thailand. dulu waktu kecil gw suka loh koleksi perangko sampe punya beberapa album gitu, dulu juga kalo ada om tante gw yg di luar negeri suka kirimin gw postcard, tapi wktu itu gw mikir, buat apa si kirim2in postcard? kenapa ga kirim surat biasa aja? hahaha *ditimpukmay.

    btw, kalimat lo yg ini : ‘ Either you must do the work you don’t like or you must live in the city you hate… you can always find a little part of the beauty in everything. Don’t waste even one day being grumpy. (well unless you’re on PMS) ‘ nampol banget dah hahaha. pas banget sama gw yg lagi empet2 nya sama jakarta dengan kemacetan dan orang2nya yg emosian (terutama kalo di jalan).

  3. Hobi gw dari dulu adalah surat menyurat, ngirim post card untungnya lumrah di sini malah kalo kita liburan nomer 1 pas nyampe di tempat tujuan adalah kirim post card buat in-laws :) . Koleksi gw udah mayan tp akhir2 ini udah jarang kirim post card ke temen2 karena sibuk banget. Paling suka kalo lagi liburan kemanaaa gt trus beli post card nya trus gw kirim2 karena gw suka bgt gambar landscape di post card nya hihi. Lucu lucu May kartu nya! Asiiikk stay di Montmartre, cantiikk!!! :D

  4. ih yang dari Miami keren deh Mei. Aku pengen ngajarin Ephraim juga nih, udah ijin nyontek idenya Arman yang buat Andrew. Romantis banget kan postcard ini, dulu pas SD-SMA aku koleksi, tiap temen bapakku atau bapaknya temenku pergi ke LN (aku dan bapakku gak pernah k LN soalnya hahaha) titipanku cuma satu : postcard. Masih ada looh skarang. *jadi pengen posting*

  5. hehehe hari ini aku menerima kartu pos dari temen blogger, si nonikhairani, di medan :) senang sekali ya bisa membaca tulisan tangan orang lain :D blom bisa membalasnya krn blom beli kartu pos :D

  6. ci,mau nanya dong..
    aku masi belum ngerti ni sistemnya..
    kalo aku milih secara acak dan u2u in mereka buat ngajakin tukeran postcard gitu bole ga ya?
    soalnya klo yg random itu suka jauh2 banget

    • Hi wulan,
      Ada dua cara. Yg pertama dipilihin sama postcrossing. Itu bener2 stranger.
      Kalo yang kedua bisa tukeran postcard, kamu bisa pilih orangnya, namanya swapping.
      Yg random emang jauh2 tapi seru loh kamu juga dapet postcard nya jauh2. :)
      Kalau maw tanya lebih detail dan teknis postcrossing bisa email aku atau tweet aku. :)

  7. Ia ci, aku baru nemu ni..direct swaps ya..tapi aku ga bisa kirim message ci, karna aku belum ngirim postcard sama sekali..maklum newbie ci..:D
    bole tau email mu ci?

  8. Postcards.. People, you, keep surprising me :). I mean, living in the age of 3.0. First thought I had was “archaeology”, second one “ancient culture” :). It was “our” ( meaning people who belong to my generation) means of holiday-communication back in the fifties :).

    Of course to me the postcard dedicated to and and book by Anne Frank, are the most special items.

    I always wondered what to people and generations who didn’t live through the terrors of Nazism themselves is the special attraction of this history; Anne Frank’s the general message of humanism, her tragic fate or her literary talent and wisdom while ( though tragically abortive) coming of age?

    By the way I share Bandi’s amazement about your time-management :).

    • I always thought that postcards, back in the fifties, were like instagram for my generation now. It’s like a statement of “Look at me, I’m in vacation while you’re at your work, bitcheees!” LOL
      Anyway, I did live through terrorism, it was the Jakarta Riot in 1988 because I’m a Chinese, and it was so close for the rioters to go into my neighborhood. I could still remember the sounds of people chanting “Burn Cina” and stuffs. It was so daunting and terrifying.
      The things that could make me feel better were my dogs. =)
      Thank god it was only like 3 days. I can’t imagine how Anne went through it. For months of darkness and horror. She’s truly amazing young lady and her story is so strong and inspiring. I’m so going to visit her house when I’m in Amsterdam. =)

  9. wow, koleksi postcard lo uda banyak juga yah may!

    as always, i love your post! tapi kali ini yang ngena banget di gw adalah soal how you put your priority over your passion.

    Sekarang banyak banget motivator-motivator yang bilang “quit your job and go for your dreams” without ever considering how sometimes, or should i say most of times, following your dreams and passions does not pay your bill.

    Unfortunately, we are not as lucky as those people who can simple do whatever they like and want to do. We have to sit 9-10 hrs (or more) doing shitty job that we don’t even like.

    Temen gw bahkan pernah bilang “passion itu mahal, mending bayar cicilan rumah dulu” haha..

    Tapi untungnya kita jadi orang yang menghargai kerja keras dan menghargai small things in our daily life, kayak yang elo bilang. Ketemu pacar di hari kerja, dapet postcard dari orang di belahan dunia lain, dan main capsa. hihi.. Gw sempet lupa sama hal ini, gw ngerasa sekeras apapun gw kerja, i would never be able to have what that my rich friends have.

    But thanks to you, now i remember the beauty in everyday life.

    Cheers!

    • Awwww the kind of comment that warms my heart. :)
      Bener, passion itu mahal, lebih mahal dari Ferrari. Haha
      Jangan lupa capsa-an tan! Itu mah pasti inget punya donggg

  10. Pingback: From blogging friends :) | The Musings of Bubbles

Leave a Reply

