Being honest


I am not those people who tells you opinion you wanted to hear. Sometimes, I didn’t give opinions at all simply because I might not know you very well and you will be mistakenly accusing me for being rude.

I am just honest. I speak the truth. I don’t like telling people what they want to hear. I like telling people the truth. But it turns out not everyone is a fan of truth.

I am okay with that. At least I have true friends who are okay with me telling the truth. Sometimes the truth is ugly and it’s sickening. Sometimes it’s so ugly that it stops time for a while. But again, I’d rather tell it now than wasting time with you denying it.

I believe on white lies. I’d do them to protect people I care about. I believe it is also honesty to really understand my motive to lie. Some would be honest, some would just live in denial. Denial is another form of being dishonest, worse it is to yourself. I will be truthful of the reason why I do the white lies. Nobody will ever know why, but I, myself, do. That’s enough.

I am not those people who plays tricks on people. I don’t find it intriguing, I find it tiring. I had enough lies and intrigues on my TV series, I don’t want them on my real life. Sometimes people thinks I’m stupid for that, and I’m not supposed to be honest to everyone. Well, I better be an honest idiot than a smart liar.

I don’t like keeping secrets. I tell everything to my close friends and if they decided to betray my faith on them, then it’s their lost. I’m fine for losing friend who betrays. There’s no need to cry over betrayal. And of course, there’s no need to cry over a friend who betrays.

I would tell stranger that I don’t have a happy family and that is fine. Why do you have to be so uncomfortable with the truth? I had a happy childhood though and if I am okay with that, you must be too.

I’m not embarrassed for the things I did in the past. I was just living my life, sometimes too much, sometimes too loud and sometimes too insane. But I was just being human, and human makes mistakes. I am not proud of them too though but there’s no need for keeping them as secrets.

I am me, bare-naked and true. No gimmicks or terms and conditions. I do what I think it’s right and I am comfortable with that. If you don’t, then it’s your problem, not mine.

I am open to millions of opportunities and I will take chances. I will always take chances. My life now is because I took chances. I failed couple of times but who doesn’t? In the end, you will only laugh on the failures and remember the lessons you got from it.

Be honest to your friends, your family, but most importantly be honest to yourself.

Don’t be scared. From what I know, there will never be going wrong with being honest.

Your life is only once, be honest.

Being honest may not get you a lot of friends but it’ll always get you the right ones.

Cheers,

May.

13 thoughts on “Being honest

  1. gua setuju may. terlepas kalo kadang emang perlu white lies untuk orang2 tertentu yang kita care banget, tapi most of the time emang harus being honest. mau hurtful kayak gimana, tetep mendingan being honest. karena paling males ya kalo kita harus sok sok bermuka dua.

  2. Bener banget May, meski kadang orang seneng banget denger sesuatu yg mereka harapkan ut mereka denger walau sbnrnya gak ada kejujuran terkandung didalamnya. :)

  3. The smart safety valve in your sympathetic philosophy of life is this wonderful concept of white lies . The lubricating oil of social life :).

  4. Gw juga milih orang jujur ke gw daripada bohong-bohong sopan. Mungkin gw tersinggung pada awalnya *maklum melankolis* tapi setelah itu kalo gw renungkan, kemungkinan besar gw akan sangat berterima kasih sama kejujuran itu. Apalagi kalo datangnya dari orang yang gw tau care sama gw. Hehe.

  5. I have a younger sister that is blatantly honest. I am not quite sure if she has a filter on anything that comes out of her mouth. If she sees a peculiar looking man at the store, she will loudly tell me to look and then proceed to point. She doesn’t have the thought about being polite or socially acceptable; all she cares about is how fascinating his mustache is. Even when I do not ask her if she approves of my hair or outfit, she will tell me, and she doesn’t mince any words. “What are you wearing?” “Do you think that’s flattering?” “Where do you think you’re going tonight in that?” It’s harsh, and has led to several breakdowns on my part, but it does spare me. It does improve me. Yet is the truth always worth it? I’ve found that sometimes the truth is more destructive than the deception.

    • Now that’s an interesting comment.
      Well, I mentioned in my first paragraph that if I don’t know that person really well, I’d rather be quiet than throwing out my opinions. It’s called manner. I think your sister has bent the honest privilege to the edge of selfishness, putting herself on the first priority above anything else, regardless any reason.
      I think that’s not honesty, that’s pure selfish ego.
      When she criticizes your outfit, it may be harsh, but it is up to you to either process it and accept it or don’t mind it at all. Fashion or Food or humor are individual taste. Your sister can’t say that your taste is bad. it is up to you to decide.

Leave a Reply

