Seeing the flood through the eyes of an innocent kid


Yesterday my bestfriend texted me late. She usually texts me around 10 am and we’ll continue chatting til evening. I was a little worried but then I thought she was just so tired and probably been busy. But then around late afternoon she texted me saying that her house has been flooded and now she was evacuated. Hours after that I saw so many sad photos of my hometown being covered by water. I contacted my sister asking whether everyone was okay and she said mom and dad are fine, she was trapped inside her school though (she’s a headmaster).

I lived in Jakarta only the first fifteen years in my life and another two years before I moved to Singapore. During those years, thankfully I never experience flooding in Jakarta. (While Bogor and Bandung were my ‘home’ in between.) I never liked Jakarta. The traffic, the rude people (yeah, I didn’t know there would be a ruder place than Jakarta until I live in Singapore) and the crime of course. I lived the first fifteen years of my life trying to escape. However my hope was elevated a little bit when Jokowi was elected as a Governor. I wish someday I could move back there, hopefully when the city is tidy and has less traffic. Yeah, my love to Jakarta is conditional.

This morning I read my sister’s tweet that she was still stuck inside the school because the flood outside the school is still impossible to pass through. I told her “ah kalo elo mah gue gak peduli. Si mami gimana?” (I don’t care about you. How’s mom?) She cursed me and she said “Kasian nih dua cacing gue makannya indomie doang.” (Poor my two babies could only eat instant noddle). I was shock to find out that my niece (my favorite little girl on earth!) and my nephew was stuck inside too! Apparently yesterday morning my sister was about to send my niece to school but the school was dismissed because of the flood so she brought my niece with her while my nephew was actually going to school where my sister is the headmaster.

Yesterday Jakarta was raining all day so the flooding around my sister’s school got worse. The water rose to the waist of an adult. (Funny to mention that in Jakarta we never measure the level of flood with centimeters, but with ‘dengkul’ (knee) ‘betis’ (calf) or pinggang (waist) with the highest level is the chest) So it turned out that my sister and her two kids were spending the night at school, sleeping on the mattress from PE class.

I was so sad knowing that but then my sister said that my niece and my brother were having a fun time with flood! How so? It turns out they think the flood is such an entertainment and they begged my sister to let them play in the rain on the flood. (WHAT?!) My sister of course didn’t let them. They however still found the flood mesmerizing and had so much fun just watching it.

I remembered when I was 7 or 8, I was so happy when it started to rain because I could play with the rain, until all my clothes are wet and if I think about it now, it’s so gross and I could seriously catch a cold or worse, got diarrhea (because some of the rain water might be swallowed). But then, I wonder why I was having so much fun? Was it the freedom I felt, the chilly feeling of the cold rain or the water sliding on my terrace’s tiles? Nah, probably because I was just a kid. Kid finds amusement in almost everything. In this case, my niece and nephew found it in flood.

Kids always see the silver lining on everything, even something horrible like flood. It’s because they don’t need to think about the broken furniture caused my floor or the money must be spent for fixing the car or stuffs like that. They’re just wanna have fun. And we, adults, miss to feel that way.

I really hope the rain would stop and the floods will gone. My niece and my nephew could play some other time. They would find anything amusing though. But more than being amused, what I want now is just for them to be safe and sound. We’ll have fun some other times, my babies. =)

May.

13 thoughts on “Seeing the flood through the eyes of an innocent kid

  1. Hope your family will be and stay safe.

    Times I was in Jakarta I rather liked the chaotic vitality of the metropolis. But I shared to some extent your emotions yesterday. Like you we – my wide and I- have something to worry about these days as my youngest son, his wife and grandson ( who, thanks to Facetime visibly were still safe) are living in South Jakarta . Moreover I’m sure Kris, the little grandson, just like your nephew would love to play in a flooded garden and street.

    Let’s hope the plague will be over soon. And that authorities at long last will start a comprehensive Delta-plan.

  2. yeah, thanks to flood i got 2 days ‘free’ at my home. thanks God banget sih gw ga kena banjir, walo jalan depan rumah sempet banjir, tapi untung ga masuk ke dalem. dan sedihnya ya, ini banjir terparah, bahkan dibanding beberapa tahun yang lalu, dan bahkan ini belum puncaknya. yah moga2 pemerintah cepet benerin saluran air jadi banjirnya ga tambah parah..

  3. gua pas kecil gak pernah ngalamin banjir sih jadi gak pernah tau gimana rasanya buat anak2.. :)
    my first flood itu pas th 1997 (eh apa 1996 ya). dan gua sangat2 sebel ama banjir. karena masuk rumah, rumah kita gak ada lotengnya. jadi ya harus berbasah2an aja. kaki dibungkus plastik kresek. kita gak ngungsi tuh. setelah reda, selain barang pada rusak, bersihinnya setengah mati. dan baunya itu lho… sampe berhari2 gak ilang2. traumatik banget dah.

    yah moga2 banjir di jakarta cepet surut ya….

    • Hah tahun segitu udah pernah ada banjir ya? Di daerah mana? Coz gue inget nya waktu jaman dulu (cieh tahun 1996-an gt itungannya udah jaman dulu) banjir sangat jarang krn resapan air masih banyak.
      Gue masih di jkt tuh tahun2 segitu. Masih jadi abg imut haha

  4. Kalo ini termasuk ga May,
    Pas liat foto untar banjir abis2an, gw sedih & merasa kasian sama orang-orang daerah itu, dosen2 yg mungkin terjebak & mahasiswa yg ga bisa kuliah.
    Nah, tapi… Kalo ini terjadi sekitar 10 taun yg lalu (aduh, udah lah yeee ternyata), waktu jaman gw kuliah gitu, gw pasti jejingkrakan karena artinya libur seminggu lebih!!

    • Haha iya gue juga merasa biasanya org yg kena musibah nya malah lebih bisa nerima dan liat silver lining nya dibanding kita yg di posisi khawatir nya. Tapi ttp aja lah semoga cepet surut semuanya. Gak bisa ngebayangin itu berapa lama harus ngepel-in lantai2 yang kena banjir. T.T

  5. The “weird” thing is that flood is not a new thing for Jakarta. But why it seems that people have not learned anything from their abundant experience in the past to prevent it to happen again?

    • Hmm, but the problem is how? It’s pretty big problem. Although simple things like stop littering and unclog the sewer are appreciated, unfortunately they’re not enough to prevent the floods. =(

  6. I passed flooded road on green garden on wednesday. my pants, sock, and shoes dripped wet afterward. it’s kinda fun because my life has been mundane these days. there is some excitement if your properties are not damaged. different story on 1996, I was victim of the dreaded flood from bogor.

Leave a Reply

