Money is the root of evil… Or happiness? What about men’s penis?


Let’s talk about money. (we’ll talk about men’s penis later) It’s a sensitive issue and I used to perceived money as an evil who destroyed my family, but slowly it changed through growing up phase.
My job is involving money when every 2 weeks I will withdraw thousands of dollars just to distribute them to hundreds of workers. Money feels just like another sheet of paper in some point.


I don’t perceive money as something big anymore. I never thought these papers could be so powerful.
Materialistic is the last trait that could be in my character, however my parents are. I don’t say it’s a bad thing, I say as a general thing. Something to be discussed.
The only reason I went to Singapore to work is because of the money. I could get 3 until 4 times of what I got back in jakarta, and even though the expense is high as fuck, I still could save some money. (But that’s probably because I don’t shop a lot like other girls.)
And the reason behind that money I’m after is my family. I support my mom and my dad financially. My mom is also the kind of person who becomes happy because of the things she get. Or, easier to say, the more money she has the happier she will be. Again, I don’t say it’s a bad thing. It’s an individual preference.
She wanted a new sofa set, she wanted a new praying desk, she wanted to enroll for a school, she wanted this and that. Ka-ching! And the most recent, she wanted to go on a holiday to China for a month. So there you go, I bought the most expensive ticket in my life to date (with the travel funds I saved for my Europe trip).
I don’t complain. I can’t complain to be precised.
We, chinese people, have this culture to be “a good child” to your parents. You have to do whatever they asked, otherwise you’ll go to hell.
You think I believe that? No!
It’s true that I have never done anything that they didn’t approve, but it is just because, I never told them. All the bad things I’ve done are always behind their backs. I guess that Chinese culture didn’t work, eh?
And for everything they asked, that can be bought, I always try to accomplish. Not because I’m afraid to go to hell, but simply because they need money more than I do. (Unless my Euro trip funds T.T) (however money could buy me tickets to Greece.)

They could be happy because of the money they have, while I’m not. I’m not happy because of the money, but because of the feeling that I can make someone happy. So I guess that would be fine.

It’s a total hypocrite if I said I don’t need money at all, because however I need savings, investments and all those craps. I’m 26 years old and I have to start doing so for my future. But believe it or not, I don’t. All of my spare money either goes to my parents or goes for my travelling tickets.

It’s not that my mom doesn’t care about me. She does, I guess, in her own way.
It’s true that all my life, never once she asked, “how are you?” or “how’s your life?” on her text messages. I once snapped out and screamed to her, saying that “Do you even care about me? You never even once asked me how I’m feeling?”
And she replied that I’m a big girl, I always live by myself as long as I could remember so she never worried about me.
And I bought that crap.
But anyway, my relationship between me and my parents is bittersweet. And money always plays a very important role.
So, I can’t say money is the root of evil because for me money is the root of happiness. If happiness is too strong for a word, let’s put “convenience”.
The fact is, I could make my mom happy by buying her holiday to China, and I won’t be able to do it without money.
The fact is, my dad went to doctor for his check up every month to keep him fine, and I won’t be able to do it without money.
Sure our Indonesian politicians use money for bad things and that’s what make them evil. But I don’t think money is the root.
Money is just a tool. It’s a freakin paper with power on the numbers.
It’s like blaming a knife for a murder case. Knife is the tool for the murderer to stab his victim. But is that the knife’s fault? No, idiots! It’s the murderer’s!
If I use the knife to cut mushrooms and make a delicious mushroom cream soup for Bandi (I really can’t make one post without putting his name, can I?), then the knife is doing good for me!
Knife is just a tool. It’s freakin metal with a power on its sharp edge.
Get my point?

It’s also the same thing with Men’s penis. They can either use it for good purpose or bad purpose which make it debatable whether it is the root of evil
or root of happiness. This could apply for Ariel, who has just been released from jail. if you don’t know who Ariel is, google him! Your life hasn’t been complete before knowing his story.

Never blame dead objects for horrible things human do. It will make you more horrible than you already are.

So, why use money for bad things when you can use it to buy me tickets to greece? ;)

Let me tell you the truth. The happiest moment in my life was when I was broke. That’s when I realize, it is true that your happiness doesn’t depend on how much money you have. For that, I absolutely believe.

But however money could help you do things, especially for those people who wants material things. And of course could help you go to Europe. =D

We just need to use it wisely. (Both the money and the penis.)

Cheers,

May.

13 thoughts on “Money is the root of evil… Or happiness? What about men’s penis?

  1. oh wait till you read about the history of money and the gold standard case (political economy class *cough cough*), you will start doubting why the hell we keep using rupiah or dollars because back then we could exchange them for gold (before collapse of bretton wood system)

    sometimes it’s amazing that our civilization keep using the fiat money though there is nothing to back up its value… but only empty promise from the government.

    well money wont give us happiness, but we can’t be happy without money either so I guess it’s important to prepare your pension money as early from now. we dont want to end up penniless when reaching the unproductive age and being dependent from other people. quite unfortunate that indonesia doesnt provide pension system, so we have to do it by using products from insurance companies.

  2. Cultures and traditions are different. It’s sympathetic, even moving if children please their parents and provide for them in old age. Though, well, I’m afraid I’m hampered by the idea that those who make children and put them on the surface on earth have a responsibility towards them which these children can only have to their offspring. Not the other way round.

    And Happiness? Happiness is a warm gun :) (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qE2Vdcv9Q_o) And probably a talent which only flourishes once certain conditions have been met; some achievement, some safety, some social life, some affection. And some regular income and sex too. Too much of all that won’t work either.

    Btw: Visiting Europe, you should not just stay in Greece – though they need tourists badly over there now.

    @ calvin: Let me guess… You read “The Global Minotaur” by Yanis Varoufakis last weekend :).;

  3. If you want to hear my advice I would say that, if you really want to see and experience a city/country, stay at least three or four days. Athens of course is the cradle of European culture, And so is Rome. Paris may not be as trendy as it was fifty years ago ( Berlin and London are), but then the spirit of enlightenment and modernity is still lingering in the streets ( and in the marvellous museums).

    And for 100% egoistic reasons I should remind you of Amsterdam. Till very recently it was the most liberal city in Europe. And it is beautiful as well. An extra advantage: it’s only 35 kilometres from where I live :).

    • Ah Colson,
      Netherland wasn’t in my itinerary. X(
      I would love to but the time won’t be enough as I’m planning to spend nearly 2 weeks exploring Italy. maybe next itinerary? :p

    • The italian trail will start from Turin (because I crossed border from Luzern (Swiss) then all the way to Alessandria, Parma, Bologna (and will stay in Cinque Terra for about 4-5 days), Firenze &Venezia are still under consideration because my boyfriend said not much to see there, Roma (of course, duh!) i’ll end it in Genoa or Bari to take overnight ferry to cross to Greece. In greece probable spend only one night in athens and spend 5 days in Santorini!!! Owyeaaah!
      Whatddya think?

  4. Wow, great, smart and promising planning. Thanks for telling – and for implicitly forgiving my curiosity ( I hope) :).

    One note though. Your boyfriend may be right about Venice (though off season it still is the most romantic place in the world for young and old lovers alike), but he definitely should reconsider his opinion on Florence. A beautiful and very ancient city with this unique goldmine of art :). To me second after Prague [ and Amsterdam of course (^_-) ].

    [You know about the “Stendhal syndrome? Scores and scores of people have been counted who on seeing the marvellous paintings in Uffizi Museum by sheer emotion got dizzy and fainted. Really :)]

    • I just googled about stendhal syndrome. Didn’t expect that to be a real medical codition though.
      Well now that you said it, maybe I’ll detour to firenze! ;)

      You are forgiven for you curiousity as long as it’s enriching my master plan since I could start reading maps. :p

      Just keep the fingers crossed that everything went well and my countings for the euro funds is correct. (though I doubt my math. Xp)

      • just dont buy euro just yet. with the eurozone is melting down, euro is getting weaker. not a safe haven. you might want to keep the money as gold, or maybe yen. I keep my money on rupiah mutual fund though.

  5. heiho miss sanguine! i love your twisted comparison between money and penis, so funny hahaha. and i totally agree with you, it’s the human factor who counts, not the thing itself

Leave a Reply

